OHSAA to recognize 70 officials

COLUMBUS — Fifteen individuals will be enshrined in the Ohio High School Athletic Association Officials Hall of Fame and 21 individuals will be honored as the OHSAA Official of the Year in their respective sport during the OHSAA’s annual Celebration of Officiating banquet this summer.

Additionally, the OHSAA will recognize 34 individuals who have dedicated 50 years of service as state-certified officials in Ohio.

The banquet is set for June 22 at the Hilton Polaris in Columbus.

The 15 Hall of Fame inductees are being honored for outstanding officiating careers and significant contributions to interscholastic officiating in Ohio. More information on the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame is posted at http://www.ohsaa.org/Officiating/HOF.

The officials of the year are selected through a process that includes OHSAA staff, OHSAA Directors of Officiating Development and local officials associations.

“Each of these individuals has dedicated themselves to the service of officiating and set the standard for excellence within their sports,” said Beau Rugg, OHSAA Director of Officiating and a member himself of the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame. “We appreciate the commitment of all of our officials and congratulate the hall of fame inductees on their distinguished careers.”

2024 OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Induction ClassScott Anders, Zanesville (Basketball, Baseball)Jeffrey Ayers, Cincinnati (Basketball)Larry Bartlett, Middletown (Football)Jeff Bauer, Columbus (Football, Track & Field)Nick Bavaro, Seville (Soccer)Don Cash, Bridgeport (Basketball)John Jasin, Brunswick (Football, Basketball)Richard Keys, Lancaster (Softball, Volleyball, Basketball)Robert Lee, Upper Sandusky (Basketball) - posthumouslyRick Merb, McDermott (Baseball, Softball, Football)Don Muenz, Columbus (Soccer)Mark Riley, Westerville (Basketball, Football)Timothy Shumaker, Lancaster (Baseball)James Siler, Hicksville (Baseball)Bill Wonders, Defiance (Football)

2023-24 Officials of the YearBaseball: Ryan Thompson, RockfordBoys Basketball: Jose Davis, SteubenvilleGirls Basketball: Jerry Snavely, Mt. GileadBoys Cross Country: Ron Weaver, Rock CreekGirls Cross Country: Gail Bowers, Walton HillsField Hockey: Anywyan Reynolds, WestervilleFootball: Bruce Bame, FindlayGymnastics: Jody Borda, DaytonIce Hockey: Nic Watson, NewarkBoys Lacrosse: Kyle Closen, LakewoodGirls Lacrosse: Jesse Hunt, CincinnatiBoys Soccer: Robert Krauss, WinchesterGirls Soccer: Tammy Gillogly, AlbanySoftball: Pamela Schultz, VandaliaBoys Swimming and Diving: Christopher Paolini, DublinGirls Swimming and Diving: Hal Hawk, Port ClintonBoys Track and Field: Penny Zuber, PataskalaGirls Track and Field: Rodney Russell, MasonBoys Volleyball: Monique Huffman, KetteringGirls Volleyball: Michael Chandler, PowellWrestling: Dave Detec, Girard

OHSAA 50-Year OfficialsJames Lanese, LyndhurstLarry Bartlett, MiddletownJeff Bauer, ColumbusDanny Kleckner, The Villages, Fla.Gene Mileusnich, MadisonDennis Foltz, NorwalkRobert McCollow, VenedociaThomas Lewis, BrunswickMarie Anthony, ColumbusLee Barlow, KetteringRichard Brooks, UniontownTim Gebhardt, Pepper PikeDouglas Hladek, AshtabulaDouglas Hoffman, MarionRobert Kruthaupt, CincinnatiRoy McCarty, DresdenAllen Radlinski, MaumeeFrank Rea, Follansbee, W.Va.Robert Baumgardt, LancasterJohn Butch, Wexford, Pa.Gary Wilkins, GalenaBruce Treadway, Bay VillageRobert Fuchs, ClaringtonGeorge Gulas, MedinaDonald Levy, CantonBrian Urquhart, CentervillePaula Coder, SidneyThane Hecox, Canal WinchesterRoger Hosler, LoganRobert Karl, KetteringMark Klopfenstein, SpringfieldDiane McClellan, ToledoRodney Russell, MasonLee Sternberg, East Canton

This article originally appeared on Zanesville Times Recorder: Area officials receive recognition from OHSAA