Who has the most College World Series titles? Past winners ahead of 2024 tournament

The 2024 College World Series has officially arrived.

Two weeks ago, 64 teams set out to make it to college baseball's most sacred grounds. Through historic wins and upsets, eight have made it to Omaha, Nebraska. And while no team in this year's field — Tennessee, Kentucky, Texas A&M, North Carolina, Florida State, NC State, Virginia and Florida — will come to challenge USC's leading 12 College World Series titles, this year's rendition of college baseball's marquee event regardless has the makings of being a historic one.

MORE: Buy College World Series tickets with StubHub

That history? Six of the eight teams to have made it to Omaha, Nebraska have never won the College World Series. The only two teams that have are Florida, the only unseeded team in the field and snuck into the 2024 NCAA Baseball Tournament with a 13-17 record in SEC play, and Virginia.

No. 1 national seed Tennessee remains the favorite to win this year's installment of the CWS. The Vols are back at the CWS for the second consecutive season, but are chasing some history this year. The Vols are looking not only to break the curse of No. 1 overall seeds — none has won the CWS since Miami in 1999 — but also their first national championship title in program history.

So who will win? We shall see. But in the meantime, here's what you need to know about past College World Series winners as play begins Friday, including who holds the record for most titles:

REQUIRED READING: CWS bracket: Schedule, TV channels, streaming, scores for NCAA baseball tournament games

Who has the most College World Series titles?

USC holds the record for the most national championship titles in College World Series history, with 12. However, the Trojans' last one came in 1998.

To win the CWS that season, the Trojans — who were a No. 4 seed — went an undefeated 5-0, picking up wins over No. 1 seed Florida (12-10), No. 8 Mississippi State (7-1), No. 5 LSU (5-4, 7-3) and No. 6 Arizona State (21-14). It marked the first national championship win for USC in two decades.

Teams with most College World Series championships

With LSU defeating Florida in the 2023 College World Series, the Tigers moved into second place behind the Trojans for the second-most CWS titles in NCAA history.

Here's a full look at the top five of leaders for most CWS titles:

  • 1. USC: 12 (1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1968, 1970-74, 1978 and 1998)

  • 2. LSU: 7 (1991, 1993, 1996-97, 2000, 2009 and 2023)

  • 3. Texas: 6 (1949-50, 1975, 1983, 2002 and 2005)

  • 4. Arizona State: 5 (1965, 1967, 1969, 1977 and 1981)

  • T-5. Arizona: 4 (1976, 1980, 1986 and 2012)

  • T-5. Cal State Fullerton: 4 (1979, 1984, 1995 and 2004)

  • T-5. Miami: 4 (1982, 1985, 1999 and 2001)

REQUIRED READING: How Tennessee baseball reinvented pitching staff to get back to College World Series

College World Series winners history

Here's a full list of CWS winners going back to 1990, according to the NCAA:

  • 2023: LSU

  • 2022: Ole Miss

  • 2021: Mississippi State

  • 2020: Canceled due to COVID-19

  • 2019: Vanderbilt

  • 2018: Oregon State

  • 2017: Florida

  • 2016: Coastal Carolina

  • 2015: Virginia

  • 2014: Vanderbilt

  • 2013: UCLA

  • 2012: Arizona

  • 2011: South Carolina

  • 2010: South Carolina

  • 2009: LSU

  • 2008: Fresno State

  • 2007: Oregon State

  • 2006: Oregon State

  • 2005: Texas

  • 2004: Cal State Fullerton

  • 2003: Rice

  • 2002: Texas

  • 2001: Miami

  • 2000: LSU

  • 1999: Miami

  • 1998: USC

  • 1997: LSU

  • 1996: LSU

  • 1995: Cal State Fullerton

  • 1994: Oklahoma

  • 1993: LSU

  • 1992: Pepperdine

  • 1991: LSU

  • 1990: Georgia

Click here to view the full list of CWS winners going back to 1941.

College World Series 2024 odds

Tennessee remains the favorite to win the 2024 College World Series, according to BetMGM. If the Vols do end up hoisting the hub cap around the pitcher's mound, it will be their first national championship title.

Here's a look at the odds for the CWW, according to BetMGM (as of Thursday, June 13):

  • 1. Tennessee (+250)

  • 2. Texas A&M (+350)

  • 3. Kentucky (+450)

  • 4. UNC (+700)

  • 5. Florida State (+750)

  • T-6. Virginia (+1000)

  • T-6. NC State (+1000)

  • 8. Florida (+1400)

We occasionally recommend interesting products and services. If you make a purchase by clicking one of the links, we may earn an affiliate fee. USA TODAY Network newsrooms operate independently, and this doesn’t influence our coverage.

Gannett may earn revenue from sports betting operators for audience referrals to betting services. Sports betting operators have no influence over nor are any such revenues in any way dependent on or linked to the newsrooms or news coverage. Terms apply, see operator site for Terms and Conditions. If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, help is available. Call the National Council on Problem Gambling 24/7 at 1-800-GAMBLER (NJ, OH), 1-800-522-4700 (CO), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN). Must be 21 or older to gamble. Sports betting and gambling are not legal in all locations. Be sure to comply with laws applicable where you reside.

This article originally appeared on Knoxville News Sentinel: College World Series winners: Which team has most national championships?