Race recap: Alex Palou holds off Colton Herta in IndyCar Series race at Laguna Seca

IndyCar's Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey is set for Weathertech Raceway Laguna Seca, 95 laps on the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course. Alex Palou is on the pole for today's race, with Kyle Kirkwood on the front row. Nolan Siegel is back on the grid with Arrow McLaren.

Scott Dixon won last year's chaotic season finale on this track. Colton Herta has won here twice since the series returned in 2019.

Nathan Brown is your best IndyCar follow, and we will have updates and highlights here. Please remember to refresh.

Alex Palou wins IndyCar race at Laguna Seca

Pole-sitter Alex Palou beats Colton Herta by about 2 seconds and takes the lead in the IndyCar Series points race. Alexander Rossi finishes 3rd.

In 4 starts on this track, Palou has won twice and finished no worse than 3rd. This is Palou's 2nd points-paying win of the season.

IndyCar results at Laguna Seca

  1. Alex Palou

  2. Colton Herta

  3. Alexander Rossi

  4. Romain Grosjean

  5. Kyle Kikwood

  6. Scott Dixon

  7. Will Power

  8. Pato O'Ward

  9. Santino Ferrucci

  10. Marcus Ericsson

  11. Felix Rosenqvist

  12. Nolan Siegel

  13. Christian Rasmussen

  14. Pietro Fittipaldi

  15. Christian Lundgaard

  16. David Malukas

  17. Linus Lundqvist

  18. Agustin Canapino

  19. Josef Newgarden

  20. Sting Ray Robb

  21. Scott McLaughlin

  22. Marcus Armstrong

  23. Graham Rahal

  24. Kyffin Simpson

  25. Jack Harvey

  26. Rinus VeeKay

  27. Luca Ghiotto

IndyCar Series Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey live updates

Lap 92 restart: Alex Palou keeps the lead.

Lap 86: Kyffin Simpson spins into Graham Rahal, and they crash. Caution. Simpson was touched from behind by Agustin Canapino.

Lap 85 restart: Alex Palou holds off a Colton Herta pass attempt in Turn 1. Herta and Alexander Rossi are within 2 seconds of the lead.

Lap 82: Jack Harvey suffers a mechanical issue. Caution.

Lap 80: Josef Newgarden spins and falls to 5th. Alex Palou leads Colton Herta by 3+ seconds.

Lap 78 restart: Alex Palou keeps his lead, with Josef Newgarden 2nd, Colton Herta 3rd, Alexander Rossi 4th and Romain Grosjean 5th. Penske teammates Scott McLaughlin and Will Power make contact. Christian Lundgaard briefly goes off track.

Lap 73: Christian Lundgaard bumps Marcus Armstrong off track. Caution. Josef Newgarden pits just before the full-course caution appears, and he's slotted in 2nd place.

Laps 68-71: Last round of pit stops among the leaders. Alex Palou had built a 10-second lead and is the last to pit.

Lap 64: Alex Palou passes Colton Herta for the lead.

Lap 62: Alex Palou passes Alexander Rossi for 2nd.

Lap 60: Colton Herta has a 1-second lead on Alexander Rossi, and Alex Palou is on Rossi's tail.

Will Power moves into the top 5.

Lap 56: Alex Palou pits after building a 21-second lead on Colton Herta. Now Herta leads, with Alexander Rossi in pursuit. Palou is 3rd.

Lap 45: Alex Palou, Romain Grosjean and Pato O'Ward are on an alternate pit strategy. They stayed out on the Lap 36 caution, but may need to pit twice more.

The primary strategy, pitting on the Lap 36 caution, was used by Colton Herta (currently in 10th place), Alexander Rossi (12th) and Kyle Kirkwood (14th). They should be able to go the rest of the way with just one pit stop.

Lap 43 restart: Alex Palou is already more than 1.5 seconds ahead, while Romain Grosjean remains 2nd and Pato O'Ward 3rd.

Lap 41 restart: Alex Palou leads, and Romain Grosjean passes Pato O'Ward for second. Nolan Siegel runs off track. Caution.

Lap 37: Alex Palou, along with a dozen others, stays on track, and Palou assumes the race lead. Colton Herta has a better pit stop than Alexander Rossi under caution. Scott Dixon makes contact with the pit wall entering pit road.

Lap 36: Luca Ghiotto crashes, bringing out the first caution.

Josef Newgarden heading into the pits to serve a penalty, and Marcus Ericsson returning to the track, have a near collision.

Lap 30: Alexander Rossi leads Kyle Kirkwood by 4+ seconds. Colton Herta is 3rd, Alex Palou 4th.

Laps 24-27: Alex Palou and Scott Dixon − both Ganassi Racing cars − are the last among the early leaders to pit. Christian Lundgaard heads off track on Lap 27.

Through the cycle, Alexander Rossi leads Alex Palou by 2+ seconds.

Lap 20: Kyle Kirkwood retains a narrow lead on Alex Palou. Felix Rosenqvist, Alexander Rossi, Colton Herta and Christian Lundgaard are within 5 seconds.

Lap 10: Kyle Kirkwood is not quite 1 second up on Alex Palou. Felix Rosenqvist, Alexander Rossi and Colton Herta are within 5 seconds.

Lap 7: Rinus VeeKay spins and falls into last place.

Lap 4: Will Power is forced off the track and loses 10 positions.

Lap 1: It's clean for a change. Kyle Kirkwood goes to the outside of pole-sitter Alex Palou for the lead.

IndyCar Series warmup crash, incident

Santino Ferrucci was penalized 5 minutes of track time during this exchange with rival Romain Grosjean.

Sting Ray Robb crashes during the warmup.

IndyCar Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey starting grid

  1. Alex Palou

  2. Kyle Kirkwood

  3. Felix Rosenqvist

  4. Colton Herta

  5. Alexander Rossi

  6. Christian Lundgaard

  7. Scott McLaughlin

  8. Romain Grosjean

  9. Pato O'Ward

  10. Scott Dixon

  11. Marcus Armstrong

  12. David Malukas

  13. Agustin Canapino

  14. Josef Newgarden

  15. Will Power

  16. Linus Lundqvist

  17. Santino Ferrucci

  18. Marcus Ericsson

  19. Graham Rahal

  20. Rinus VeeKay

  21. Christian Rasmussen

  22. Kyffin Simpson

  23. Noel Siegel

  24. Pietro Fittipaldi

  25. Sting Ray Robb

  26. Jack Harvey

  27. Luca Ghiotto

When is the IndyCar race today?

Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey isSunday, June 23, 2024, at Weathertech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. All times ET

3-3:30p.m.: IndyCar Series warmup, Peacock, IndyCar Live, IndyCar Radio, SiriusXM Channel 218,

3:55-5:10 p.m.: Indy NXT race, Peacock, IndyCar Live, IndyCar Radio, SiriusXM Channel 218

6-9 p.m.: IndyCar race, USA, Peacock, IndyCar Live, IndyCar Radio, SiriusXM Channel 218

IndyCar news from IndyStar

Looking ahead: Rossi, Lundgaard next big dominoes in IndyCar Silly Season

More: IndyCar announces 2025 schedule including full network TV slate with Fox

2024 IndyCar Series schedule

Times are ET for TV coverage

Date, time



March 10

St. Petersburg, Fla.%

Pato O'Ward**

March 24

Thermal, Calif.*#

Alex Palou

April 21

Long Beach, Calif.%

Scott Dixon

April 28

Leeds, Ala.#

Scott McLaughlin

May 11


Alex Palou

May 26


Josef Newgarden

June 2


Scott Dixon

June 9

Elkhart Lake, Wis.#

Will Power

June 23, 6 p.m.

Monterey, Calif.#


July 7, 1:30 p.m.

Lexington, Ohio#


July 13, 8 p.m.

Newton, Iowa@


July 14, noon

Newton, Iowa@


July 21, 1 p.m.



Aug. 17, 6 p.m.

Gateway, Ill.@


Aug. 25, 3 p.m.



Aug. 31, 6 p.m.



Sept. 1, 2:30 p.m.



Sept. 15, 3 p.m.



IndyCar Series points standings

(Through June 9)

  1. Will Power, 236

  2. Alex Palou, 231

  3. Scott Dixon, 225

  4. Pato O'Ward, 184

  5. Scott McLaughlin, 179

  6. Kyle Kirkwood, 179

  7. Colton Herta, 176

  8. Josef Newgarden, 169

  9. Alexander Rossi, 162

  10. Felix Rosenqvist, 157

This article originally appeared on Indianapolis Star: Alex Palou beats Colton Herta in IndyCar Series race at Laguna Seca