Cleveland to host 2019 All-Star Game

Jan 27 (The Sports Xchange) - The 90th Major League Baseball All-Star Game in 2019 will be held at Progressive Field, home of the Cleveland Indians, commissioner Rob Manfred officially announced on Friday.

The Indians returned to the World Series last fall for the first time since 1997, which also was the last time the team hosted the All-Star Game. The Indians took the Chicago Cubs to seven games last year before losing a dramatic World Series.

Cleveland also hosted the All-Star Game in 1935 (the third in the event's history) as well as 1954, 1963 and 1981.

"Last year's World Series was a great illustration of the rich baseball history in Cleveland," Manfred said in a statement.

"We are delighted that the 2019 All-Star Game will be in Cleveland with the Indians' loyal fans during an exciting time for the franchise. Major League Baseball looks forward to bringing 90th Midsummer Classic to downtown Cleveland in 2019 to celebrate the best of our sport."

The Indians will follow this year's All-Star Game hosts, the Miami Marlins, and the Washington Nationals in 2018.

The 2017 All-Star Game is slated for July 11 at Marlins Park in Miami, marking the first time that the Marlins will host the event in their franchise history.

Winners of the 2016 MLB Awards -- Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, etc.
See Gallery
Winners of the 2016 MLB Awards -- Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, etc.

AL Most Valuable Player: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

(Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

NL Most Valuable Player: Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs

(Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images)

AL Cy Young Award: Rick Porcello, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Billie Weiss/Boston Red Sox/Getty Images)

AL Rookie of the Year: Michael Fulmer, Detroit Tigers

(Photo by Mark Cunningham/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

NL Cy Young Award: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals

(Photo by Matthew Hazlett/Getty Images)

NL Rookie of the Year: Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers

(Photo by Chris Williams/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

AL Manager of the Year: Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians

(Photo by David Richard-USA TODAY Sports via Reuters)

NL Manager of the Year: Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers

(Photo by Rob Tringali/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

AL Hank Aaron Award: David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

NL Hank Aaron Award: Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs

(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Overall Defensive Player of the Year: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Michael Ivins/Boston Red Sox/Getty Images)


Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.