2017 Laureus World Sports Awards shine the spotlight on LeBron James and Stephen Curry


The Laureus World Sports Awards is putting together a serious competition that may be even more heated than the NBA Final between the Cavs and the Warriors or the stiff competition at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Laureus announced the nominees for seven of the categories for the Laureus World Sports Awards held in Monaco on February 14.

The organization shined the spotlight of some of the most renowned sports moments of the year and the incredible athletes that made them happen.

In the Sportsman of the Year category, it's going to be a tight race with Stephen Curry and LeBron James going up against Olympic gold medal winners Usain Bolt, Mo Farah and Andy Murray and soccer phenom Cristiano Ronaldo.

Check out who was nominated for the awards this year:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award

Usain Bolt

Stephen Curry

Mo Farah

LeBron James

Andy Murray

Cristiano Ronaldo

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award

Simone Biles

Allyson Felix

Angelique Kerber

Katie Ledecky

Elaine Thompson

Laura Kenny

PHOTOS: A look back at the 2016 Laureus Awards

Laureus World Team of the Year Award

Brazil Men's Olympic Football Team

Cleveland Cavaliers

Chicago Cubs

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Portugal Men's Football Team

Real Madrid

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award

Almaz Ayana

Fiji Men's Rugby Sevens Team

Iceland Men's Football Team

Leicester City

Nico Rosberg

Wayde van Niekerk

Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award

Ruth Beitia

Michael Phelps

Juan Martin del Potro

Fabienne St Louis

Nick Skelton

Aksel Lund Svindal

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award

Ihar Boki

Omara Durand

Marcel Hug

Sophie Pascoe

Siamand Rahman

Beatrice Vio

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award

Rachel Atherton

Pedro Barros

John John Florence

Chloe Kim

Kelly Sildaru

Tyler Wright