White House widens European travel ban to include U.K., Ireland


Vice President Mike Pence announced Saturday that the U.S. would be expanding its preventive travel ban to the United Kingdom and Ireland effective at "midnight, Monday night," in addition to countries in the European Union already affected.

American citizens are not subject to the travel ban, which aims to help authorities contain the spread of the coronavirus.

Moments before, President Donald Trump told reporters that he was considering domestic travel restrictions, but did not offer additional details.

This story is developing. Please check back for more.

Related: Coronavirus outbreak

  • This article originally appeared on HuffPost.