Alonso, Alvarez easily win Rookie of Year awards

Pete Alonso, the most productive rookie home run hitter in baseball history, and Yordan Alvarez were landslide winners of baseball's Rookie of the Year awards on Monday.

Alonso of the New York Mets trotted away with the National League honor after smacking 53 homers to break the rookie mark set by Aaron Judge (52) of the New York Yankees two years ago. Alvarez had a franchise-rookie-record 27 homers in just 87 games for the Houston Astros en route to unanimously winning the American League award.

Alonso, an All-Star first baseman, received 29 of 30 first-place votes for 148 points and easily won over second-place finisher Mike Soroka (82) of the Atlanta Braves and third-place shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr. (26) of the San Diego Padres. The right-handed Soroka received the other first-place vote.

In addition to his homer production, Alonso batted .260 with 30 doubles and 120 RBIs. The player nicknamed "Polar Bear" also won the Home Run Derby at the midseason All-Star Game.

"I really feel blessed," Alonso, who turns 25 next month, said in an interview on the MLB Network. "I have to say thank you to the New York Mets for giving me the opportunity right out of spring training and believing in me from Day One."

Soroka, 22, went 13-4 with a 2.68 ERA in 29 starts for the Braves. The All-Star right-hander struck out 142 in 174 2/3 innings.

Tatis was limited to 84 games due to injuries but the 20-year-old was spectacular when he played. He energized the Padres with a .317 average along with 22 homers, 53 RBIs and 16 steals.

Alvarez received all 30 first-place votes and 150 points to easily outdistance the runner-up, pitcher John Means (53) of the Baltimore Orioles, and third-place infielder Brandon Lowe (27) of the Tampa Bay Rays.

Alvarez, 22, fit in well with the Astros' powerful lineup by batting .313, slugging .655 and driving in 78 runs in 87 games. He is the 11th unanimous winner in AL history.

"He wants to appreciate all the help that everyone has taught him during the season, especially his teammates and the fans who follow him," Alvarez said through a translator on the MLB Network.

The left-handed Means went 12-11 with a 3.60 ERA in 31 appearances (27 starts). The 26-year-old All-Star had a solid 1.14 WHIP and struck out 121 in 155 innings.

Lowe, 25, batted .270 but was limited to 82 games due to injuries. The All-Star smacked 17 homers and drove in 51 runs.

Alonso is the sixth New York Mets player to win the award but just the second position player. Outfielder Darryl Strawberry was the 1983 winner.

Pitchers Tom Seaver (1967), Jon Matlack (1972), Dwight Gooden (1984) and Jacob deGrom (2014) are the other Mets' winners.

Tom Seaver's iconic MLB career
See Gallery
Tom Seaver's iconic MLB career
QUEENS, NY - UNDATED: Tom Seaver of the New York Mets pitches during an MLB game at Shea Stadium in Queens, NY. Seaver pitched for the Mets from 1967-1976 and 1983. (Photo by Ron Vesely/MLB Photos via Getty Images)
UNITED STATES - OCTOBER 30: At Shea Stadium, a smiling Tom Seaver flashes 1969 and 1973 baseballs indicating the two times the Met righthander has won the coveted Cy Young Award. Tom accepted the award and became the first non-twenty game winner to take it. The last time he walked off with the award was in 1969, after compiling a 25-win record. (Photo by Nick Sorrentino/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)
1978: Tom Seaver #41 of the Cincinnati Reds pitches during a 1978 season game. (Photo by MLB Photos via Getty Images)
(Original Caption) New York Met's hurler Tom Seaver proudly displays the Cy Young Award he received May 7th at Shea Stadium as the outstanding pitcher in the National League in 1975. It's Seaver's third Cy Young Award. He was the winner in 1969 and 1973.
NEW YORK - 1974: Tom Seaver of the New York Mets takes a pitching pose in 1974. (Photo by Mark Rucker/Transcendental Graphics/Getty Images)
American baseball player Tom Seaver (left) of the New York Mets winds up a pitch to Willie Stargell (1940 - 2001) of the Pittsburgh Pirates during a game at Forbes Field, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, September 13, 1969. (Photo by Co Rentmeester/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty Images)
UNDATED: Tom Seaver #41 of the Chicago White Sox winds up for the pitch during a game. Tom Seaver played for the Chicago White Sox from 1984-1986. (Photo by Ron Vesely/Getty Images)
1980s: Tom Seaver #41 of the Chicago White Sox poses for a circa 1980s publicity photo. Seaver played for the White Sox from 1984-86. (Photo by MLB Photos via Getty Images)
UNITED STATES - AUGUST 05: Tom Seaver acknowledges ovation from Yankees Stadium fans after he returned home to notch victory No. 300 of an illustrious career. (Photo by Harry Hamburg/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)
BOSTON, MA - CIRCA 1986: Pitcher Tom Seaver #41 of the Boston Red Sox pitches against the Kansas City Royals during an Major League Baseball game circa 1986 at Fenway Park in Boston, Massachusetts. Seaver played for the Red Sox in 1986. (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)
UNITED STATES - MARCH 06: Tom Seaver acknowledges cheers from the crowd after throwing out the first pitch before the New York Mets took on the Los Angeles Dodgers in spring training. (Photo by Keith Torrie/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)
UNITED STATES - CIRCA 2000: Former Mets' pitcher and Hall of Famer Tom Seaver waves to fans at Shea Stadium before throwing out the ceremonial first pitch prior to Game 3 of the National League Division Series between the New York Mets and San Francisco Giants. The Mets went on to beat the Giants in a 13 inning nail-biter by a score of 3-2 and take a 2-1 lead in the series. (Photo by Keith Torrie/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

The Cuban-born Alvarez is the third Houston player to win the award. Jeff Bagwell won the NL award in 1991 when the Astros were in that league and Carlos Correa won the AL honor in 2015.

Chicago White Sox outfielder Eloy Jimenez (20 points) and Toronto Blue Jays infielder Cavan Biggio (seven) round out the AL top five.

Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Bryan Reynolds was fourth in the NL balloting, followed by fifth-place Dakota Hudson, a right-hander for the St. Louis Cardinals.

--Field Level Media

Read Full Story