The NFL teams that have won the most Super Bowls

  • Only 12 NFL teams have won more than one Super Bowl.
  • The Pittsburgh Steelers own the most with six, and the New England Patriots, San Francisco 49ers, and Dallas Cowboys each have five.
  • The Patriots can tie the Steelers by beating the Los Angeles Rams in Super Bowl LIII.
  • Check out all of INSIDER's Super Bowl 2019 coverage here >

The NFL is a league built on the idea of parity, and through history, it's largely achieved that.

Sure, the New England Patriots have found a way to win over the past two decades, but they're just one of 12 teams to win more than one Super Bowl.

In total, 12 teams have never won a Super Bowl (four have never even been there). That means 20 have at least one championship under their belt.

While the Patriots are the model of success in the NFL, they don't own the most Super Bowls ever (yet).

Check out the teams with the most Super Bowls below:

NFL teams that have won the most Super Bowls
See Gallery
NFL teams that have won the most Super Bowls

T10. Miami Dolphins — 2

Years won: 1972, 1973

(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

T10. Indianapolis Colts — 2 

Years won: 1970, 2006

(Photo by Robert Caplin/Bloomberg via Getty Images)

T10. Baltimore Ravens — 2

Years won: 2000, 2012

(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

T7. Denver Broncos — 3

Years won: 1996, 1997, 2015

(AP Photo/Dave Martin)
T7. Washington Redskins — 3

Years won: 1982, 1987, 1991

(AP Photo/Jim Mone)
T7. Oakland Raiders — 3

Years won: 1976, 1980, 1983

(AP Photo)
T5. New York Giants — 4

Years won: 1986, 1990, 2007, 2011

(AP Photo/David J. Phillip)
T5. Green Bay Packers — 4

Years won: 1966, 1967, 1996, 2010

(AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

T2. Dallas Cowboys — 5

Years won: 1971, 1977, 1992, 1993, 1995

(Photo by Gin Ellis/Getty Images)

T2. San Francisco 49ers

Years won: 1981, 1984, 1988, 1989, 1994

(AP Photo/Lennox McLennon, File)
T2. New England Patriots — 5 

Years won: 2001, 2003, 2004, 2014, 2016

(AP Photo/Darron Cummings)
1. Pittsburgh Steelers — 6

Years won: 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 2005, 2008

(Photo by Terry Gilliam/MCT/MCT via Getty Images)

Now, check out how driven one of the best Super Bowl quarterbacks of all-time is...

38 examples of Tom Brady's insane competitiveness >

See Also:



Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.