Kyler Murray apologizes after old homophobic tweets surface hours after he wins Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray won the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, making him the second straight quarterback from Oklahoma to win college football’s most prestigious award.

Just hours after winning the award, though, several of his old homophobic tweets surfaced on Twitter.

Update: He apologized in the early hours of Sunday morning via Twitter:

Murray used an anti-gay slur both on its own and when tweeting at his friends in 2011 and 2012 — when he was 14 and 15 years old. The tweets in question were deleted from Murray’s account late Saturday night.

Warning: The following tweets contain language that may be found offensive.

Oklahoma did not immediately respond to a request for comment from USA Today on Saturday night.

Murray is now the latest athlete to have old racist, homophobic or offensive tweets resurface. Milwaukee Brewers pitcher Josh Hader had racist and homophobic tweets surface during the MLB All-Star game this summer, and Bills quarterback Josh Allen had racist tweets surface just before he was selected in the NFL draft.

Heisman Trophy winners through history
See Gallery
Heisman Trophy winners through history

1935: Jay Berwanger, Chicago

(Photo via Getty Images)

1936: Larry Kelley, Yale

(Photo via Getty Images)

1937: Clint Frank, Yale

(Photo via Getty Images)

1938: Davey O'Brien, TCU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1939: Nile Kinnick, Iowa

(Photo via Getty Images)

1940: Tom Harmon, Michigan

(Photo via Getty Images)

1941: Bruce Smith, Minnesota

(Photo via Getty Images)

1942: Frank Sinkwich, Georgia

(Photo by Georgia/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1943: Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame

(Photo by Notre Dame/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1944: Les Horvath, Ohio State

(Photo by Vic Stein/Getty Images)

1945: Doc Blanchard, Army

(Photo via Getty Images)

1946: Glenn Davis, Army

(Photo by Army/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1947: Johnny Lujack, Notre Dame

(Photo by Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1948: Doak Walker, SMU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1949: Leon Hart, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1950: Vic Janowicz, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1951: Dick Kazmaier, Princeton

(Photo via Getty Images)

1952: Billy Vessels, Oklahoma

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1953: Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1954: Alan Ameche, Wisconsin

(Photo via Getty Images)

1955: Howard Cassady, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1956: Paul Hornung, Notre Dame

(Photo by Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1957: John David Crow, Texas A&M

(Photo by Texas A&M/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1958: Pete Dawkins, Army

(Photo by Donald Uhrbrock/The LIFE Images Collection/Getty Images)

1959: Billy Cannon, LSU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1960: Joe Bellino, Navy

(Photo via Getty Images)

1961: Ernie Davis, Syracuse

(Photo via Getty Images)

1962: Terry Baker, Oregon State

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1963: Roger Staubach, Navy

(Photo via Getty Images)

1964: John Huarte, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1965: Mike Garrett, USC

(Photo by Bettmann/CORBIS/Bettmann Archive)

1966: Steve Spurrier, Florida

(Photo by University of Florida/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1967: Gary Beban, UCLA

(Photo via Getty Images)

1968: OJ Simpson, USC

(Photo via Getty Images)

1969: Steve Owens, Oklahoma

(Photo via Getty Images)

1970: Jim Plunkett, Stanford

(Photo via Getty Images)

1971: Pat Sullivan, Auburn

(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

1972: Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska

(Photo by Nebraska/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1973: John Cappelletti, Penn State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1974 and 1975: Archie Griffin, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1976: Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

(Photo by Dick Lewis/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

1977: Earl Campbell, Texas

(Photo by Jerry Engel / (c) NYP Holdings, Inc. via Getty Images)

1978: Billy Sims, Oklahoma

(Photo via Getty Images)

1979: Charles White, USC

(University of Southern California/Collegiate Images via Getty Images)

1980: George Rogers, South Carolina

(Photo via Getty Images)

1981: Marcus Allen, USC

(Photo by University of Southern California/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1982: Herschel Walker, Georgia

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1983: Mike Rozier, Nebraska

(Photo by Nebraska/Collegiate Images/ Getty Images)

1984: Doug Flutie, Boston College

(Photo by John Roca/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

1985: Bo Jackson, Auburn

(Photo via Getty Images)

1986: Vinny Testaverde, Miami

(Photo via Getty Images)

1987: Tim Brown, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1988: Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1989: Andre Ware, Houston

(Photo via Getty Images)

1990: Ty Detmer, BYU

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1991: Desmond Howard, Michigan

(Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

1992: Gino Torretta, Miami

(Photo by John Williamson/Sporting News via Getty Images)

1993: Charlie Ward, Florida State

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1994: Rashaan Salaam, Colorado

(Photo via Getty Images)

1995: Eddie George, Ohio State

(Photo by Hunter Martin/WireImage)

1996: Danny Wuerffel, Florida

(Photo by Sporting News/Sporting News via Getty Images)

1997: Charles Woodson, Michigan

(Photo via Getty Images)

1998: Ricky Williams, Texas

(Photo credit should read ADAM NADEL/AFP/Getty Images)

1999: Ron Dayne, Wisconsin

(Photo via Reuters)

2000: Chris Weinke, Florida State

(Photo credit HENNY RAY ABRAMS/AFP/Getty Images)

2001: Eric Crouch, Nebraska

(Photo via REUTERS/Jeff Christensen JC/HK)

2002: Carson Palmer, USC

(Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

2003: Jason White, Oklahoma

(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

2004: Matt Leinart, USC

(Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Icon SMI/Icon Sport Media via Getty Images)

2005: Reggie Bush, USC (later vacated)

(Photo by Michael Cohen/WireImage)

2006: Troy Smith, Ohio State

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2007: Tim Tebow, Florida

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2008: Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

(Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)

2009: Mark Ingram Jr., Alabama

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2010: Cam Newton, Auburn

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images for The Heisman)

2011: Robert Griffin III, Baylor

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Heisman Trophy Trust via Getty Images)

2012: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon SMI/Corbis via Getty Images)

2013: Jameis Winston, Florida State

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images for the Heisman Trust)

2014: Marcus Mariota, Oregon

(Photo by Alex Goodlett/Getty Images)

2015: Derrick Henry, Alabama

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire/Corbis via Getty Images)

2016: Lamar Jackson, Louisville

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)


Murray, who was drafted by the Oakland A’s with the No. 9 overall pick in the 2018 MLB draft, led the Sooners to a Big 12 championship this season and a spot in the College Football Playoff. The junior threw for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns this year.

No. 4 Oklahoma will take on No. 1 Alabama in the College Football Playoff on Dec. 29.

More from Yahoo Sports:
Brown: Remembering Luis Valbuena and his love of baseball
Warriors remind everyone in NBA who’s boss
Reports: Ayton, Booker ‘exchanged words’ in front of media after Suns loss
Which college football players are sitting out bowl games?


Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.