Here are the 8 cities getting XFL teams for the league's revamped 2020 season

  • The XFL is set to return in 2020, with eight teams playing spring football under Vince McMahon's business stewardship.
  • On Wednesday, the eight cities that would host teams were announced, including New York, Los Angeles, and Tampa.
  • McMahon isn't the only one hoping to start a spring football league, with the American Alliance of Football set to kick off its inaugural season in 2019.

In January, WWE Chairman and CEO Vince McMahon announced that he would be reviving the XFL.

On Wednesday, the eight cities getting teams were announced, as well as the stadiums that would host them.

While the original iteration of the XFL was a monumental failure, running for just one season in 2001 and losing WWE and NBC millions in the process, McMahon promised a new vision for the league this time around, selling the league as "football reimagined."

McMahon won't be without competition — a competing spring football league, the Alliance of American Football, is set to start play in 2019. The league was created by Charlie Ebersol, who worked with McMahon extensively while directing the "30 for 30" documentary "This is the XFL" for ESPN.

While the AAF will get a headstart on the XFL, McMahon certainly has an advantage when it comes to brand recognition, and with the cities that will play host to XFL teams now public, he can begin campaigning for the league to help ensure it doesn't meet the same brief end it did in its first run.

Take a look below at the cities that will have XFL teams come 2020 and the stadiums that will be hosting them.

8 U.S. cities getting XFL teams
See Gallery
8 U.S. cities getting XFL teams
New York City -- MetLife Stadium

Capacity: 82,500

Year opened: 2010

Current residents: New York Giants, New York Jets

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
Washington, D.C. -- Audi Stadium

Capacity: 20,000

Year opened: 2018

Current residents: D.C. United

(Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images)
Los Angeles -- StubHub Center

Capacity: 27,000

Year opened: 2003

Current residents: LA Galaxy, Los Angeles Chargers

(Photo by Jeff Gritchen/Orange County Register via Getty Images)
Houston -- TD ECU Stadium

Capacity: 42,822

Year opened: 2014

Current residents: Houston Cougars

(Photo by Ken Murray/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
St. Louis -- The Dome at America's Center

Capacity: 66,695

Year opened: 1995

Current residents: None, former home of the St. Louis Rams

(Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Seattle -- CenturyLink Field

Capacity: 72,000

Year opened: 2002

Current residents: Seattle Seahawks, Seattle Sounders FC

(Photo by Michael Zagaris/San Francisco 49ers/Getty Images)
Dallas -- Globe Life Park

Capacity: 49,115

Year opened: 1994

Current residents: Texas Rangers

(Photo by Cooper Neill/MLB Photos via Getty Images)
Tampa Bay -- Raymond James Stadium

Capacity: 65,618

Year opened: 1998

Current residents: Tampa Bay Buccaneers, South Florida Bulls

 (Photo by Don Juan Moore/Getty Images)

Read more on the new XFL:

See Also:



Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.