Red Sox slugger J.D. Martinez makes unexpected Silver Slugger history

Baseball award season is in full swing. While we won’t know the major individual award — MVP, Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Rookie of the Year — winners until next week, Major League Baseball has set the table this week with a couple tasty appetizers. On Sunday, we learned the Rawlings Gold Glove award winners at each position. On Thursday, the best hitters in baseball were recognized when the Silver Slugger awards were handed out on MLB Network.

The Silver Slugger was first awarded in 1980, and this year it brought an unexpected twist that we’ve never seen before. Boston Red Sox outfielder and designated hitter J.D. Martinez became the first player to ever win two Silver Sluggers in the same season after being voted among the best hitters at both spots.

The award is voted on by the managers and coaches in Major League Baseball. He was the first choice at designated hitter and still managed to get enough votes to also finish top three in the outfield, where he joined teammate Mookie Betts and Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout.

Betts and Trout represent two of the three AL MVP finalists. Other notable winners included the third finalist, José Ramírez. On the NL side, MVP finalists Christian Yelich, Javier Báez and Nolan Arenado were all winners, as well.

Aside from Martinez, the most interesting winner was Nick Markakis. The 34-year-old outfielder was a first-time All-Star for the Atlanta Braves in 2018, and now he’s a first-time Silver Slugger winner, as well. That’s quite a story.

Here are the position-by-position Silver Slugger winners:

2018 Silver Slugger winners
See Gallery
2018 Silver Slugger winners

Catcher, AL: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

(AP Photo/Carlos Osorio)

Catcher, NL: J.T. Realmuto, Miami Marlins

(AP Photo/Toru Takahashi)

First base, AL: José Abreu, Chicago White Sox

(AP Photo/Chris O'Meara)

First base, NL: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks

(Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images)

Second base, AL: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros

 (Photo by Loren Elliott/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

Second base, NL: Javier Báez, Chicago Cubs

(Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images)

Third base, AL: Alex Bregman, Houston Astros

(Photo by Loren Elliott/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

Third base, NL: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

(Photo by Dustin Bradford/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

Shortstop, AL: Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians

(Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images)

Shortstop, NL: Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies

(Photo by Kyle Emery/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Outfield, AL: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Outfield, AL: J.D. Martinez, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

Outfield, AL: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

(Photo by Victor Decolongon/Getty Images)

Outfield, NL: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers

(Photo by Alex Trautwig/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

Outfield, NL: David Peralta, Arizona Diamondbacks

 (Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images)

Outfield, NL: Nick Markakis, Atlanta Braves

(Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

Designated hitter: J.D. Martinez, Boston Red Sox

(Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Pitcher: German Marquez, Colorado Rockies

(Photo by Andy Cross/The Denver Post via Getty Images)


More from Yahoo Sports:
Fed-up 7-year-old’s hilarious letter to Cowboys owner
Floyd Mayweather calls off fight against kickboxer
Le’VeonBell sighting is followed by cryptic tweets
A hero’s welcome: The lives Watt helped save

Read Full Story

From Our Partners