AUGUSTA, Ga. — Sergio Garcia arrived at No. 15 at the Masters 2-over par. He left 10-over.
How did he get there? Let’s recap:
Shot 1: 322-yard driver, right down the middle, leaving him 205 yards to the pin
Shot 2: Water
Shot 3: Penalty
Shot 4: Water
Shot 5: Penalty
Shot 6: Water
Shot 7: Penalty
Shot 8: Water
Shot 9: Penalty
Shot 10: Water
Shot 11: Penalty
Shot 12: On the green
Shot 13: In the hole
That’s five shots in the water for a total of 13 — tied for the highest score ever on a hole at the Masters and likely the end of his defense of his 2017 victory.
Here’s a look at his shot sheet:
Good news is, he promptly birdied the next hole. So he’s got that going for him, which is nice.
More from Yahoo Sports:
• Player breaks up no-hitter by breaking unwritten rule
• Freakishly strong athlete has NFL teams’ attention
• Jeff Passan: Rockies star’s deal shows how much MLB has changed
• ESPN cuts to commercial at worst possible time