Calgary Flames place RW Jaromir Jagr on waivers

The Calgary Flames placed veteran right wing Jaromir Jagr on waivers Sunday, according to multiple reports.

Jagr, 45, is on regular waivers, which means he is eligible to be claimed by the rest of the NHL's teams until Monday at noon. If he goes unclaimed, the Flames are expected to place him on unconditional waivers, thus paving the way for his contract to be mutually terminated and allowing him to finish the season in Europe, multiple outlets reported.

If that becomes the case, Jagr is expected to joins his hometown team, HC Kladno, in the Czech 1 Liga.

Jagr, 45, has a goal and six assists in 22 games since signing with the Flames on a one-year, $1 million deal in October. He was placed on injured reserve with a lower-body injury on Jan. 14, retroactive to Dec. 31.

After averaging 17 minutes of ice time with the Florida Panthers last season, scoring 16 goals and tallying 30 assists, Jagr averaged just over 13 minutes per game with the Flames, getting the majority of his shifts on the fourth line.

The Future Hall of Famer will go down as one of the best players in NHL history, ranking second all-time in points (1,921), third in goals (766) and third in games played (1,733). He is only 34 games short of tying Gordie Howe's record for career games played (1,767).

Stanley Cup Champions throughout NHL history
See Gallery
Stanley Cup Champions throughout NHL history

Montreal Canadiens: 1916, 1924, 1930, 1931, 1944, 1946, 1953, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1986, 1993

(Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Toronto Maple Leafs: 1918, 1922, 1932, 1942, 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1951, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1967

(Photo by Pictorial Parade/Getty Images)

New York Rangers: 1928, 1933, 1940, 1994

(Photo by Linda Cataffo/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

Boston Bruins: 1929, 1939, 1941, 1970, 1972, 2011

(Photo via Getty Images)

Chicago Blackhawks: 1934, 1938, 1961, 2010, 2013, 2015

(Photo via Getty Images)

Detroit Red Wings: 1936, 1937, 1943, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2008

(Photo by Albert Dickson/Sporting News via Getty Images)

Philadelphia Flyers: 1974, 1975

(Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

New York Islanders: 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983

(Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Edmonton Oilers: 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990

(Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Calgary Flames: 1989

(Photo by Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images)

Pittsburgh Penguins: 1991, 1992, 2009, 2016

(Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

New Jersey Devils: 1995, 2000, 2003

(Photo by B Bennett/Getty Images)

Colorado Avalanche: 1996, 2001

(Photo by Glenn Cratty via Getty Images)

Dallas Stars: 1999

(Photo by Elsa Hasch /Allsport via Getty Images)

Tampa Bay Lightning: 2004

(Photo via REUTERS/Shaun Best GMH)

Los Angeles Kings: 2012, 2014

(Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Carolina Hurricanes: 2006

(Photo via REUTERS/Mike Blake)

Anaheim Ducks: 2007

(Photo via REUTERS/Danny Moloshok)


--Field Level Media

Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.