Heisman Trophy finalists announced

The 2017 Heisman Trophy finalists were just revealed on ESPN.

Only three players will be headed to New York City this Saturday for the Heisman Trophy presentation.

They are Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Stanford running back Bryce Love and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield. Jackson won the award last year, while Mayfield is the odds-on favorite to win it this weekend.

Heisman Trophy winners through history
See Gallery
Heisman Trophy winners through history

1935: Jay Berwanger, Chicago

(Photo via Getty Images)

1936: Larry Kelley, Yale

(Photo via Getty Images)

1937: Clint Frank, Yale

(Photo via Getty Images)

1938: Davey O'Brien, TCU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1939: Nile Kinnick, Iowa

(Photo via Getty Images)

1940: Tom Harmon, Michigan

(Photo via Getty Images)

1941: Bruce Smith, Minnesota

(Photo via Getty Images)

1942: Frank Sinkwich, Georgia

(Photo by Georgia/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1943: Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame

(Photo by Notre Dame/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1944: Les Horvath, Ohio State

(Photo by Vic Stein/Getty Images)

1945: Doc Blanchard, Army

(Photo via Getty Images)

1946: Glenn Davis, Army

(Photo by Army/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1947: Johnny Lujack, Notre Dame

(Photo by Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1948: Doak Walker, SMU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1949: Leon Hart, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1950: Vic Janowicz, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1951: Dick Kazmaier, Princeton

(Photo via Getty Images)

1952: Billy Vessels, Oklahoma

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1953: Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1954: Alan Ameche, Wisconsin

(Photo via Getty Images)

1955: Howard Cassady, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1956: Paul Hornung, Notre Dame

(Photo by Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1957: John David Crow, Texas A&M

(Photo by Texas A&M/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1958: Pete Dawkins, Army

(Photo by Donald Uhrbrock/The LIFE Images Collection/Getty Images)

1959: Billy Cannon, LSU

(Photo via Getty Images)

1960: Joe Bellino, Navy

(Photo via Getty Images)

1961: Ernie Davis, Syracuse

(Photo via Getty Images)

1962: Terry Baker, Oregon State

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1963: Roger Staubach, Navy

(Photo via Getty Images)

1964: John Huarte, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1965: Mike Garrett, USC

(Photo by Bettmann/CORBIS/Bettmann Archive)

1966: Steve Spurrier, Florida

(Photo by University of Florida/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1967: Gary Beban, UCLA

(Photo via Getty Images)

1968: OJ Simpson, USC

(Photo via Getty Images)

1969: Steve Owens, Oklahoma

(Photo via Getty Images)

1970: Jim Plunkett, Stanford

(Photo via Getty Images)

1971: Pat Sullivan, Auburn

(Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

1972: Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska

(Photo by Nebraska/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1973: John Cappelletti, Penn State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1974 and 1975: Archie Griffin, Ohio State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1976: Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

(Photo by Dick Lewis/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

1977: Earl Campbell, Texas

(Photo by Jerry Engel / (c) NYP Holdings, Inc. via Getty Images)

1978: Billy Sims, Oklahoma

(Photo via Getty Images)

1979: Charles White, USC

(University of Southern California/Collegiate Images via Getty Images)

1980: George Rogers, South Carolina

(Photo via Getty Images)

1981: Marcus Allen, USC

(Photo by University of Southern California/Collegiate Images/Getty Images)

1982: Herschel Walker, Georgia

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1983: Mike Rozier, Nebraska

(Photo by Nebraska/Collegiate Images/ Getty Images)

1984: Doug Flutie, Boston College

(Photo by John Roca/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

1985: Bo Jackson, Auburn

(Photo via Getty Images)

1986: Vinny Testaverde, Miami

(Photo via Getty Images)

1987: Tim Brown, Notre Dame

(Photo via Getty Images)

1988: Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State

(Photo via Getty Images)

1989: Andre Ware, Houston

(Photo via Getty Images)

1990: Ty Detmer, BYU

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1991: Desmond Howard, Michigan

(Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

1992: Gino Torretta, Miami

(Photo by John Williamson/Sporting News via Getty Images)

1993: Charlie Ward, Florida State

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

1994: Rashaan Salaam, Colorado

(Photo via Getty Images)

1995: Eddie George, Ohio State

(Photo by Hunter Martin/WireImage)

1996: Danny Wuerffel, Florida

(Photo by Sporting News/Sporting News via Getty Images)

1997: Charles Woodson, Michigan

(Photo via Getty Images)

1998: Ricky Williams, Texas

(Photo credit should read ADAM NADEL/AFP/Getty Images)

1999: Ron Dayne, Wisconsin

(Photo via Reuters)

2000: Chris Weinke, Florida State

(Photo credit HENNY RAY ABRAMS/AFP/Getty Images)

2001: Eric Crouch, Nebraska

(Photo via REUTERS/Jeff Christensen JC/HK)

2002: Carson Palmer, USC

(Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

2003: Jason White, Oklahoma

(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

2004: Matt Leinart, USC

(Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Icon SMI/Icon Sport Media via Getty Images)

2005: Reggie Bush, USC (later vacated)

(Photo by Michael Cohen/WireImage)

2006: Troy Smith, Ohio State

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2007: Tim Tebow, Florida

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2008: Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

(Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)

2009: Mark Ingram Jr., Alabama

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images)

2010: Cam Newton, Auburn

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images for The Heisman)

2011: Robert Griffin III, Baylor

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Heisman Trophy Trust via Getty Images)

2012: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon SMI/Corbis via Getty Images)

2013: Jameis Winston, Florida State

(Photo by Kelly Kline/Getty Images for the Heisman Trust)

2014: Marcus Mariota, Oregon

(Photo by Alex Goodlett/Getty Images)

2015: Derrick Henry, Alabama

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire/Corbis via Getty Images)

2016: Lamar Jackson, Louisville

(Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)


Penn State running back Saquon Barkley looked like the Heisman favorite until late October, but ultimately didn’t get an invite. He looks like the most obvious potential “snub.”

ESPN will broadcast the 2017 Heisman Trophy presentation Saturday night from New York City. Coverage begins at 8 p.m. ET.

Predicting The Next 5 National Champions

The post The 2017 Heisman Trophy Finalists Have Been Announced appeared first on The Spun.

Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.