The Vatican refuses to go gluten-free at communion

If you're a gluten-free Catholic, you don't have a prayer in getting the wafer to be tailored to your taste!

In a new set of rules, the Vatican outlawed gluten-free bread for Holy Communion, according to the BBC.

Let's break it down.

If you're not one of the 1.2 billion Roman Catholics on Earth, bread is used to symbolize the body of Christ during Holy Communion.

Now it's gotta be gluten-free.

The ruling was issued at Pope Francis's request, and a letter was sent to bishops worldwide, according to NPR.

The letter basically said wafers, known as hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.

It's all because a quick Google search shows gluten-free options are now out there, so the Catholic church wants to nip it in the bud.

But there's some wiggle room.

They're cool with low-gluten wafers.

Even with such a small amount, if you can't have any gluten at all, the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops says you can receive a "wine only" Communion, according to the Huffington Post.

Related: Melania Trump visits the Vatican