California has its own travel ban, and it's expanding

President Donald Trump isn't the only one pushing for travel restrictions. The state of California has its own travel ban, but instead of blocking people from coming in, it blocks state-funded travel to certain places.

The state just announced it won't pay to send its employees to Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota or Texas anymore. The measure is part of a law that curbs travel to states with laws that target people due to sexual orientation or gender identity.

That law was passed in September in response to North Carolina's now-defunct House Bill 2. The so-called "bathroom bill" mandated people use the bathroom that matched the gender listed on their birth certificate.

President Trump revives travel ban argument
See Gallery
President Trump revives travel ban argument
People, the lawyers and the courts can call it whatever they want, but I am calling it what we need and what it is, a TRAVEL BAN!
The Justice Dept. should have stayed with the original Travel Ban, not the watered down, politically correct version they submitted to S.C.
The Justice Dept. should ask for an expedited hearing of the watered down Travel Ban before the Supreme Court - & seek much tougher version!
In any event we are EXTREME VETTING people coming into the U.S. in order to help keep our country safe. The courts are slow and political!
.@foxandfriends Dems are taking forever to approve my people, including Ambassadors. They are nothing but OBSTRUCTIONISTS! Want approvals.

House Bill 2 also blocked local governments from passing ordinances that banned discrimination against LGBTQ individuals.

SEE MORE: DeVos Won't Commit To Banning LGBTQ Discrimination At Private Schools

Three of the new additions — Texas, Alabama and South Dakota — were added because of laws that could prevent LGBTQ parents from adopting or fostering children. Kentucky was added to the list for a new law that lets student organizations discriminate against LGBTQ classmates.

California's Attorney General Xavier Becerra said he added the four to the Golden State's blacklist because of the "discriminatory nature of laws enacted by those states."

They join a growing list. Aside from North Carolina, California also bans state-funded travel to Kansas, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.