Which NBA franchise has the most Championships? Boston Celtics top the list with 17 titles

In the coming days, either the Cleveland Cavaliers or the Golden State Warriors will claim this year's NBA title.

LeBron James and the Cavs would be taking on the organization's second title with back-to-back NBA Finals wins. If Steph Curry, Kevin Durant and the Warriors succeed, they will win the Warriors' fifth Championship. It would be Curry's second title and Durant's first.

RELATED: An alternative look at the beauty of the NBA Finals

While there are 30 teams in the NBA, just 18 current -- and one defunct -- franchises have been crowned champions since the NBA Finals originated in 1947.

NBA Championships throughout the league's history

NBA Championships throughout the league's history
See Gallery
NBA Championships throughout the league's history

Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers: 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010

(Photo by Michael Edwards/Los Angeles Times via Getty Images)

Rochester/Cincinnati Royals/Kansas City/Sacramento Kings: 1951

(Photo by NBAPhotos/ NBAE/ Getty Images)

Syracuse Nationals/Philadelphia 76ers: 1955, 1967, 1983

(Photo by The Stevenson Collection/NBAE via Getty Images)

Philadelphia/San Francisco/Golden State Warriors: 1947, 1956, 1975, 2015

(Photo via Getty Images)

Boston Celtics: 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 9184, 1986, 2008

(Photo via Getty Images)

St. Louis/Atlanta Hawks: 1958

(Photo by NBAPhotos/ NBAE/ Getty Images)

New York Knicks: 1970, 1973

(Photo by NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images)

Milwaukee Bucks: 1971

(Photo by NBA Photo Library/ NBAE/ Getty Images)

Portland Trail Blazers: 1977

(Photo by NBA Photos/NBAE via Getty Images)

Baltimore/Washington Bullets/Washington Wizards: 1978

(NBA Photos/NBAE via Getty Images)

Seattle SuperSonics/Oklahoma City Thunder: 1979

(Photo by NBA Photos/NBAE via Getty Images)

Fort Wayne/Detroit Pistons: 1989, 1990, 2004

(Photo by Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE via Getty Images)

Chicago Bulls: 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998

(Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images)

Houston Rockets: 1994, 1995

(Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE via Getty Images)

San Antonio Spurs: 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014

(Photo by Fernando Medina/NBAE via Getty Images)

Miami Heat: 2006, 2012, 2013

(Photo credit should read JEFF HAYNES/AFP/Getty Images)

Dallas Mavericks: 2011

(Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

Cleveland Cavaliers: 2016

(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)


Only five teams have won more than three championships: the Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers, Chicago Bulls, San Antonio Spurs and Golden State Warriors. Those franchises alone have claimed nearly 70 percent of all titles.

The Celtics top the list with an incredible 17 championship wins, and the Lakers aren't far behind with 16. Following the two frontrunners, the next closest franchise is Chicago, who has six NBA titles.

Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.