Here's a running list of the lawmakers planning to boycott Trump's inauguration

From his controversial politics to his recent comments questioning civil rights legend and U.S. Rep. John Lewis, President-elect Donald Trump has inspired nearly 30 Democratic lawmakers to boycott his inauguration -- and the list is growing by the hour.

Michigan Rep. Keith Ellison, a contender to lead the DNC, became one of the latest to join on Monday afternoon, saying he could "not celebrate a man who preaches a politics of division and hate." Texas Rep. Lloyd Doggett and Rep. Karen Bass of California announced plans to boycott as well on Tuesday.


Rep. Lewis drew the ire of Trump late last week when he told NBC News he did not plan to attend the inauguration because he did not consider Trump to be a "legitimate" president, citing the election interference from Russia when pressed to explain why.

"I don't plan to attend the inauguration," Lewis said. "It will be the first one that I miss since I've been in Congress. You cannot be at home with something that you feel that is wrong, is not right."

On Wednesday, Lewis' camp admitted he had missed one prior inauguration, skipping George W. Bush's in 2001 over concerns about the election process.

Trump responded the next day by attacking Lewis and saying he should spend more time focused on his own "failing" district.

SEE MORE: Trump to John Lewis: Fix your 'horrible' Atlanta district

The response from Trump inspired a wave of progressive backlash, with a new crop of Democrats announcing their intentions to boycott the inauguration over the comments about Lewis.

New York Rep. Yvette Clarke was among those who pegged her lack of attendance specifically to Trump's comments, saying in a tweet, "When you insult [John Lewis], you insult America."

California Rep. Mark DeSaulnier announced plans to skip the 45th president's inauguration on Friday, ahead of Trump's response to Lewis.

"I was hopeful the President-elect would turn away from the divisive and contentious behavior exhibited during the campaign and embrace a message to unify all Americans," he said in a statement announcing his decision. "Sadly, we have witnessed one polarizing action after another. Since being elected, he has demonstrated hostility toward our free and open press, committed to gutting health insurance for millions of hardworking families, and is filling his cabinet with nominees more closely aligned with Wall Street than Main Street."

SEE MORE: Trump tweet sends John Lewis book sales soaring

Rep. Luis Gutierrez of Illinois was among the first to announce plans to boycott the inauguration.

"I cannot go to (the) inauguration of a man who's going to appoint people to the Supreme Court and turn back the clock on women and turn back the clock on immigrants and the safety and freedom that we fought for them," he told CNN in December.

While some of the lawmakers have actively chosen to make their opposition to Trump known, others told AOL News they never planned to attend, since the inauguration falls during a congressional recess and the city will otherwise be overwhelmed with visitors.

As of January 16, only members of the House of Representatives had voiced their opposition to the event, and no senators had specifically announced plans to boycott. Many -- but not all -- of the lawmakers planning to avoid the January 20 events hail from reliably Democratic states, including New York, California and Massachusetts.