Leaving an animal in a hot car could soon be a felony in Michigan
Leaving an animal in a car in Michigan could soon be a felony.
If passed, Michigan would join 16 other states with similar laws making it illegal to keep an animal in a hot car.
Those states include: Arizona, California, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont and West Virginia.
An animal injured by the effects of a hot car could result in a $1,000 fine or a year in jail. Meanwhile, first offenders could receive a $350 fine or up to two months in jail.
Here are the steps you should take if you see a pet left in a hot car:
- Take down the car's information
- Check nearby businesses to alert the pet owner of situation
- If you can't find the owner, call the police or animal control
Click through the gallery to read more about a deputy who was fired after a K-9 died in a hot car: