You could soon get a ticket for drinking coffee while driving in New Jersey
TRENTON, N.J. (WPIX) — Need your caffeine on the way to work in the morning? You soon may not be able to drink coffee — or do anything for that matter — while driving in the state of New Jersey.
According to NJ.com, the new bill would impose fines and a possible license suspension for drivers who eat, drink, groom, read or use electronic devices behind the wheel.
SEE ALSO: Teacher admits to sending selfies to a 16-year-old during her honeymoon
Currently, New Jersey has laws banning the use of hand-held cell phones and texting while driving, but no prohibitions of other behavior that is considered distracting, according to the state Division of Highway Traffic Safety.
However, the new bill, which is modeled after a law in Maine, is to discourage drivers from multitasking and is intended to educate, not punish, according to sponsors Assemblyman John Wisniewski, D- Middlesex and Nicholas Chiaravalloti, D-Hudson.
NJ.com reports that violators could face a $200 to $400 fine for the first offense and a $400 to $600 fine for a second offense. A third or subsequent offense could mean a fine of $600 to $800 and up to a 90 day license suspension, as well as motor vehicle points.
Related: Also see these tasty coffee drinks: