These seven states want to make daylight saving time permanent

It's that time of year again! 

On Sunday, November 3rd at 2:00 AM, daylight saving time officially comes to an end, with much of the United States turning their clocks back an hour. Whereas many people welcome the time change with open arms -- an extra hour of sleep! -- daylight saving time has actually been linked to a myriad of health issues, including the disruption of sleep, an increase in the risk of heart attack and stroke, as well as an increased risk of car crashes. 

In addition to these health implications, "springing forward" has also coincided with more stock market losses, lower test scores, as well as an increase in workplace injury and suicide rates, studies have found

Daylight Saving Time Facts
See Gallery
Daylight Saving Time Facts
Benjamin Franklin essentially came up with this glorious time exchange in 1741, when he was an ambassador for Paris.Though it wasn't until World War I that Europe truly started to implement Daylight Saving Time in order to bolster their war efforts.

DST before 2007 used to fall a few days before Halloween, but since the holiday tends to come with increased accidents it was moved to the first Sunday in November, according to Acurite.

Though, some dispute that the change was made to allow Trick or Treaters to stay out longer. 

Circa 1955: Silhouette of a witch on a broomstick flying over the skyline of New York City, Halloween.

(Photo by Lambert/Getty Images)

Arizona and Hawaii are the only two U.S. states that don't observe Daylight Saving Time. Pro: they don't have to worry about changing their clocks. Con: they never 'gain an hour.'

When World War II came around-- saving time was fashionable again and everyone wanted to get their hands on daylight saving time. However, it was near complete confusion in the United States-- there was no uniformity. According to Live Science, "One 35-mile bus ride from Moundsville, W.Va., to Steubenville, Ohio, took riders through no less than seven different time changes."

It was officially adopted by the U.S. in 1966. 

DST can affect the time you're born-- on paper that is. A baby could be born at 1:55 a.m. during daylight saving time, with another born ten minutes later, marked as 1:05 a.m.

Freaky, huh?

We hate to be that person-- but Daylight Saving Time is not plural, though many say and spell it as such. So, if you want to be that person you can spend the day correcting all of your friends when they say "daylight savings time."
Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving. Japan and China don't observe DST at all, and Antarctica doesn't either.

If you dislike the twice-a-year time shifts, you're not alone. According to a new poll conducted by the Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research, seven in 10 Americans don't agree with the changes.

Many states have been attempting to eradicate the time shift and have proposed bills to come up with a standard time. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 46 bills have been enacted in 26 states in 2019 on the issue of time change, asking to make permanent standard time or daylight saving time.

Every US state, with the exception of Arizona and Hawaii, will be turning their clocks back this weekend, but there are many states -- Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Nevada, Oregon, Tennessee and Washington -- who have approved legislation to make daylight saving time permanent, although they'll still need approval from the federal government.

Meanwhile, other states, California, Alaska and Texas to name a few, have started the legislation process. In California, 60 percent of voters opted to make a permanent change to daylight saving time in the 2018 election. 

Read Full Story