Uber finally lets you delete Uber without having to beg

Were you on Team #DeleteUber but never actually deleted the app? Or are you just now realizing that Uber is a company full of many damning problems?

Well, you're in luck. Uber is making it easier for you to delete the app from your smartphone.

SEE ALSO: Uber CEO admits he needs a right-hand (please be a wo)man

Uber users can now delete the app directly from their smartphone without having to contact support. According to TechCrunch, this process was called "Dear John" internally and was designed over the last year (therefore long before #DeleteUber was trending across social media).

Uber is still putting a fail safe in. Uber will retain a user's data for 30 days after they opt to delete their account. So, if you change your mind (as in perhaps someone from Harry Potter uses a pensieve to pull your memories of all the corrupt things they have done), you can restore your account.

Prior to this update, Uber users had to contact Uber and customer service representatives had to deal with each request individually. There was no automated system, like exists now. That became a massive problem when 500,000 people requested to delete their accounts following the company's actions during a protest over President Donald Trump's travel ban, The New York Times reported.

Beyond making it easier to delete Uber, the app is introducing more privacy features. Users can now choose, within the app, to no longer receive notifications for ride updates or for discounts.

Uber is also making it easier for users to understand, again within the app, how much of their location data Uber knows. No, it's not letting you limit that. You can either select always or never for location tracking (but you need it on to use the app — so good luck checking never). Uber users also can decide if they want friends to be able to access their location data, as in use Uber's people to people feature.

Each of these features will become available to users over the coming weeks, according to TechCrunch.

RELATED: #DeleteUber trends on Twitter

More on AOL.com:
McDonald's and Uber just made a huge announcement, and it's a complete game-changer
Apple CEO Tim Cook once personally threatened to kick Uber out of the App Store
Uber employees help create tone-deaf '#undelete' mural