Here are the JCPenney stores closing in 2017


JCPenney announced in February plans to close two distribution facilities and 138 department stores this year to redirect resources in higher-performing locations and initiatives.

"We believe closing stores will also allow us to adjust our business to effectively compete against the growing threat of online retailers," CEO Marvin Ellison said at the time.

The retailer recently provided a full list for stores impacted by the move, and customers can expect stores to begin liquidating their inventory in April.

Here are all the JCPenney stores closing in 2017:

  • Alabama: Auburn, Bessemer, Gadsden and Jasper.

  • Arizona: Benton and Blytheville, AR; Bullhead City.

  • California: Bishop, Lodi, Orange and Richmond.

  • Colorado: Fort Morgan, Glenwood Springs, Longmont and Sterling.

  • Florida: Milford, CT; Jacksonville and Palatka.

  • Georgia: Dublin, Macon, Milledgeville, Thomasville and Tifton.

  • Iowa: Deborah, Fort Dodge, Oskaloosa, and Ottawa.

  • Idaho: Burley.

  • Illinois: Bloomington, Canton, Effingham, Macomb, Peru, Sterling and Woodbridge.

  • Indiana: Columbus, Connersville, Huntington, Jasper and Logansport.

  • Kansas: Chanute, Great Bend, Hutchinson, Lawrence and Winfield.

  • Louisiana: Baton Rouge, DeRidder and Slidell.

  • Massachusetts: Lanesborough.

  • Maryland: Easton.

  • Maine: Rockland.

  • Michigan: Battle Creek, Escanaba, Holland, Houghton, Kingsford, Midland and Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Minnesota: Baxter, Fairmont, Faribault, Hibbing, Hutchinson, Red Wing, Thief River Falls and Winona.

  • Missouri: Maryville.

  • Mississippi: Columbus, Corinth, Greenville, Meridian and Oxford.

  • Montana: Helena and Sidney.

  • North Carolina: Albemarle, Boone, Gastonia, Hendersonville, Monroe and Roanoke Rapids.

  • North Dakota: Dickinson, Jamestown and Wahpeton.

  • Nebraska: Fremont, McCook and North Platte.

  • New Jersey: Rio Grande.

  • Nevada: Las Vegas.

  • New York: Dunkirk, Massapequa and West Nyack.

  • Ohio: Findlay, New Philadelphia, Richmond Heights and St. Marys.

  • Oklahoma: Altus, Claremore, Ponca City and Stillwater.

  • Oregon: Astoria, Grants Pass, La Grande, Pendleton and The Dalles.

  • Pennsylvania: Bloomsburg, Clearfield, King of Prussia, Philadelphia, Towanda, Pennsdale and Willow Grove.

  • South Carolina: Charleston and Easley.

  • South Dakota: Mitchell, Pierre, Watertown and Yankton.

  • Tennessee: Greenville, Knoxville and Union City.

  • Texas: Athens, Borger, Early, El Paso, Marshall, McAllen, Nacogdoches, Seguin and Stephenville.

  • Virginia: Christiansburg and Roanoke.

  • Washington: Snohomish.

  • Wisconsin: Marinette, Marshfield, Richland Center and Wisconsin Rapids.

  • West Virginia: Martinsburg and Sheridan.