Michigan man gets $128 parking ticket for leaving car running in his driveway

It's safe to say that at least once in our lives, we've left a car running without actually driving it at the moment.

Come winter time, whether we're dreading facing the inevitable cold that will greet us once we leave the heated comfort of the driver's seat, or we want to get a head start on heating up our car before we hop in to leave, we're all guilty of hanging in our driveways.

SEE ALSO: Waitress gets $300 tip from stranger to buy new laptop that was stolen before Christmas

This is precisely what Taylor Trupiano of Roseville, Michigan was doing – leaving his car running with the heat on while stepping inside the house.

But this little act of preheating landed Turpiano with a $128 parking ticket – in his own driveway.

Trupiano told CBS Detroit that he was running inside his girlfriend's house to drop off diapers and left the car running.

He told Detroit-based WXYZ:

"I was in and out in probably about 7-8 minutes. So in that amount of time he ran up here, gave me a ticket and by the time I got out he was nowhere to be seen."

To express his frustration, Trupiano posted a picture of the ticket to Facebook, referring to the citation as a "waste of taxpayer's money":

In response to Trupiano's anger on social media, Roseville Police Chief James Berlin responded in a statement to WXYZ:

"It's common sense. We can't warn everybody of the law there is. Common sense says you don't leave your car running unattended."

Trupiano has until January 26 to pay the ticket.

RELATED: 21 states paying workers more in 2017

22 PHOTOS
21 states paying workers more in 2017
See Gallery
21 states paying workers more in 2017

Alaska

2016 minimum wage: $9.75
2017 minimum wage: $9.80

Arizona

2016 minimum wage: $8.05
2017 minimum wage: $10
Arkansas

2016 minimum wage:
$8
2017 minimum wage: $8.50

California

2016 minimum wage: $10
2017 minimum wage: $10.50

Colorado

2016 minimum wage: $8.31
2017 minimum wage: $9.30

Connecticut

2016 minimum wage: $9.60
2017 minimum wage: $10.10

Florida

2016 minimum wage: $8.05
2017 minimum wage: $8.10

Hawaii

2016 minimum wage: $8.50
2017 minimum wage: $9.25

Maine

2016 minimum wage: $7.50
2017 minimum wage: $9

Maryland

2016 minimum wage: $8.75
2017 minimum wage: $9.25

Massachusetts

2016 minimum wage: $10
2017 minimum wage: $11

Michigan

2016 minimum wage: $8.50
2017 minimum wage: $8.90

Missouri

2016 minimum wage: $7.65
2017 minimum wage: $7.70

Montana

2016 minimum wage: $8.05
2017 minimum wage: $8.15

New Jersey

2016 minimum wage: $8.38
2017 minimum wage: $8.44

New York

2016 minimum wage: $9
2017 minimum wage: $9.70

Ohio

2016 minimum wage: $8.10
2017 minimum wage: $8.15

Oregon

2016 minimum wage: $9.75
2017 minimum wage: $10.25

South Dakota

2016 minimum wage: $8.55
2017 minimum wage: $8.65

Vermont

2016 minimum wage: $9.60
2017 minimum wage: $10

Washington

2016 minimum wage: $9.47
2017 minimum wage: $11

HIDE CAPTION
SHOW CAPTION
of
SEE ALL
BACK TO SLIDE

More on AOL.com:
#NoFishFriday: Pittsburgh sandwich shop to ban fish sandwiches due to NFL playoff game
The average cost of an American commute
One at-risk bluefin tuna sells for more than $600,000

Read Full Story

Can't get enough business news?

Sign up for Finance Report by AOL and get everything from retailer news to the latest IPOs delivered directly to your inbox daily!

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.