Latest Sports Scores

Scoreboard

  • ALL
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • NCAAB
  • NBA
  • Final
    MIN115
    IND114
  • Final
    MIL118
    CHA108
  • Final
    MIA97
    DET96
  • Final
    PHO91
    ATL95
  • Final
    PHI106
    BKN101
  • Final
    GS113
    HOU106
  • Live
    DEN103
    POR109
  • Live
    WAS70
    LAL82
  • NHL
  • Final
    BUF1
    CBJ3
  • Final
    NSH1
    BOS4
  • Final
    DET1
    CAR4
  • Final
    OTT2
    PHI3
  • Final
    WPG4
    NJ3
  • Final
    DAL1
    MTL4
  • Final
    FLA2
    TOR3
  • Final
    WSH5
    MIN4
  • Final
    LA1
    EDM2
  • Live
    ANA4
    VAN1
  • Live
    NYR2
    SJ3
  • CBK
  • Final
    CS-BK61
    GATECH76
  • Final
    TCU68
    UCF53

Confusion looms over U.S. Open leader Dustin Johnson after possible penalty

Before you go, we thought you'd like these...
Before you go close icon
Day 3 of the 2016 U.S. Open in 44 Seconds

OAKMONT, Pennsylvania, June 19 (Reuters) - The final round of the U.S. Open was thrown into an almost farcical state of confusion on Sunday over whether back-nine leader Dustin Johnson would or would not be hit with a one-shot penalty for making his ball move early in his round.

Johnson was leading the championship by one stroke when he was informed on the 12th tee by a U.S. Golf Association official that he might be penalized after the round despite being cleared on the spot of the possible infraction on the fifth green at Oakmont.

Johnson's ball appeared moved slightly as the long-hitting American was preparing to attempt his par putt. He denied having caused the ball to move and the official accompanying the pairing decided not to levy a penalty.

Seven holes later, Johnson was told that video evidence of the incident would be reviewed after the round.

"After looking at the video, we have some concerns," Hall explained to FOX TV. "We put him on notice that, based on what we saw, the actions may lead to a penalty stroke."

SEE ALSO: LeBron James trolls haters before Game 7

Officials informed the other contending golfers on the course that Johnson might be penalized.

This left the contenders to play the final few holes not knowing how they stood in relation to Johnson.

With the ruling still to come, Johnson led at four-under with three holes left, two strokes ahead of Irishman Shane Lowry (three holes left) and American Scott Piercy (one hole left).

The USGA handling of the situation drew outraged responses from other high profile players via Twitter.

"Amateur hour from @USGA," tweeted Rory McIlroy, saying no penalty was warranted.

Added Jordan Spieth: "This is a joke."

(Reporting by Larry Fine in New York; Editing by Andrew Both)

Follow AOL Sports on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
Read Full Story

Sign up for Breaking News by AOL to get the latest breaking news alerts and updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.

From Our Partners