Stephen Curry named the first unanimous MVP in NBA history

Steph Curry is NBA's 1st Unanimous MVP
Steph Curry is NBA's 1st Unanimous MVP

Stephen Curry continues to make NBA history.

On Tuesday, the NBA announced that Stephen Curry won the 2015-16 MVP award — and he won it unanimously.

There has never been a unanimous MVP in NBA history.

Here's a look at the voting for the award. Not a single first-place vote for any other player. Incredible.


Curry also became just the 11th player in NBA history to ever win consecutive MVPs.

Somehow, Curry was able to top a 2014-15 season in which he won MVP and led the Warriors to a championship. Curry averaged an incredible 30 points per game, on 50% shooting, 45% from three, five rebounds, six assists, and two steals per game while leading the Warriors to an NBA record 73 regular-season wins this season. Curry also shattered his own record for made three-pointers in a season, knocking down 402, beating his previous best of 286.

Despite an injury-riddled postseason thus far, Curry returned to action on Monday night and dazzled, dropping 40 points, 17 in overtime, to help the Warriors move to a 3-1 series lead over the Blazers.

After missing two weeks, Curry reminded the NBA world of his dominance. Now, he caps it off and makes it official that he's the best player in the world.

Stephen Curry PointAfter


Follow AOL Sports on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Originally published