Sylvester Stallone lands Netflix competition series 'Ultimate Beastmaster'

New to Netflix for May 2016
New to Netflix for May 2016

Sylvester Stallone will produce and appear on a new Netflix competition series entitled "Ultimate Beastmaster," the streaming service announced Monday.

The series will feature six customized local versions featuring local languages, competitors and hosts from each competing country.

Those countries are: U.S., Brazil, South Korea, Mexico, Germany and Japan. All ten episodes of the series will be made available at the same moment globally on Netflix.

The 10-episode event series will feature 108 competitors, 18 from each country, in total. Each hour-long episode will feature 12 competitors, two from each country, who will take their shot at running one of the most physically demanding obstacle courses ever devised, "The Beast."

Stallone through the years:

At the end of each episode, a "Beastmaster" will be crowned and in the final episode of the season, the nine individual winners from each episode will compete against each other for the chance for one contestant to become the Ultimate Beastmaster.

Stallone and Dave Broome both serve as executive producers on the series, which is produced by 25/7 Productions and Broome for Netflix.

"The invitation to partner with Netflix and mega-producer Dave Broome on this revolutionary concept was an opportunity I couldn't resist," Stallone said. "The world will watch in awe as amazing competitors from around the globe overcome grueling physical challenges – and in the process become champions and heroes. The course is unequaled in its daring creation and I am excited to be a part of it."

For each localized version, local celebrity hosts and popular athletes will provide commentary throughout the competition. The hosts for each country include the following:

U.S.: Terry Crews ("Brooklyn Nine-Nine," "The Ridiculous Six"), Charissa Thompson ("Extra TV," Fox Sports)
Brazil: Anderson Silva (former UFC Middleweight Champion), Rafinha Bastos (Comedian, Journalist and TV Personality)
South Korea: Seo Kyung Suk (Actor, Comedian and TV Host), Park Kyeong Rim (Actress, Comedian and TV Host)
Mexico: Ines Sainz (Journalist, Sportscaster & TV Host), Luis Ernesto Franco (Actor and Producer)
Germany: Hans Sarpei (Former Soccer Player, TV Personality), Luke Mockridge (Comedian)
Japan: Sayaka Akimoto (Actress), Yuji Kondo (Sports Anchor)