Laureus Awards 2016: All the winners from Novak Djokovic to Nikki Lauda


Laureus celebrated the best in athletics on Monday April 20 in Berlin, Germany, drawing out the biggest names in sports from tennis pro Novak Djokovic to All Blacks Richard Hugh "Richie" McCaw to Nadia Comaneci to Lewis Hamilton to soccer greats Carlos Puyol, Raul and Jens Lehmann.

The award show, hosted by Bill Murray, included inspirational moments from legendary race car driver Niki Lauda, who was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

"I want to take a chance to dedicate this award to the losers. From my own experience, winning is one thing, but out of losing I always learned more for the future," Lauda, now 67, told the crowd. The message ​definitely hit home for tennis pro, Novak Djokovic, who took the stage after winning the Laureus Sportsman of the Year and recognized Lauda in his speech and later dedicated his own award to the legacy of both the racer and soccer great, Johan Cruyff, who was posthumously awarded the Spirit of Sport title for his contributions to soccer.

Check out all of the winners below:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams
Laureus World Team of the Year: All Blacks
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Jordan Spieth
Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Dan Carter
Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Daniel Dias
Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jan Frodeno

Originally published