'Empire' returns with spring soundtrack

Serayah McNeill Talks About 'Empire,' and Solo Music Project
Serayah McNeill Talks About 'Empire,' and Solo Music Project

A new Lyon's share of intrigue roars back into action when Empire returns Wednesday. Preceding the spring premiere comes word about the popular Fox series' newest soundtrack: Empire: Original Soundtrack, Season 2 Volume 2 will be released by Columbia Records on April 29.

Cast members Jussie Smollett and Yazz pair up on the urgent anthem "Never Let It Die," which they recently debuted on American Idol (March 17). That song, the Yo Gotti remix of "All Nite" as well as other never-heard selections from upcoming episodes comprise the 20-track set, which is available for pre-order now.

Empire: Original Soundtrack, Season 2 Volume 1 was released in November 2015. Its track list included "No Doubt About It," "Born to Love You" and Alicia Keys' duet with Smollett on "Powerful."

Released in March 2015, Original Soundtrack from Season 1 of Empire debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 and concurrently became the first TV series soundtrack to bow atop Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums tally. The set also earned a Grammy Award nomination last year for best compilation soundtrack for visual media.

'Empire' Is First TV Soundtrack to Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart

The complete track list for Empire: Original Soundtrack, Season 2 Volume 2 (digital deluxe edition):

1. Freedom (feat. Jussie Smollett)
2. Crown (feat. Jamila Velazquez, Raquel Castro, Yani Marin)
3. Look But Don't Touch (featuring Serayah)
4. Good People (featuring Jussie Smollett, Yazz)
5. Like My Daddy (featuring Jussie Smollett)
6. Shine On Me (featuring Jussie Smollett, Bre-Z)
7. All Nite (featuring Yazz, Serayah, Jamila Velazquez)
8. Body Speak (featuring Serayah)
9. Last Night (featuring Jussie Smollett, Bre-Z)
10. Get It Started (featuring Jussie Smollett, Kelli Wakili)
11. Got That Work (featuring Yazz)
12. Good Enough (Negrito Remix featuring Jussie Smollett)
13. Chasing The Sky (featuring Terrence Howard, Jussie Smollett, Yazz)
14. No Competition (featuring Yazz, Serayah, Jussie Smollett)
15. Hemingway (featuring Jussie Smollett)
16. My Own Thang (featuring Jussie Smollett, Bre-Z)
17. Turn Around (featuring Bre-Z)
18. Fabulous (featuring DMK)
19. Never Let It Die (featuring Jussie Smollett, Yazz)
20. All Nite (Yo Gotti Remix) (featuring Yazz, Yo Gotti, Serayah and Jamila Velazquez)

Originally published