Little Rock pulls off big comeback, shocks Purdue in 2OT

Arkansas-Little Rock Pulls Off 2OT Upset

Little Rock is moving on in the NCAA Tournament, thanks to an out-of-nowhere comeback that led to an 85-83 double-overtime victory over Purdue on Thursday.

Josh Hagins sent the game into overtime with a shot from the edge of the midcourt logo, and then into double OT with an arcing shot off glass over an outstretched defender.

SEE MORE: Check out this updated bracket

The 6-foot-1 senior finished with 31 points, including six in the second overtime.

The 12th-seeded Trojans (30-4), trailed 65-52 with 3:33 to go in regulation, and then went on a 12-0 run to make it a game. Trailing by three on the final possession, Hagins tried to find space, then stepped back and launched from 30 feet to tie it.

SEE MORE: Yale shocks Baylor for first tourney win

Little Rock will face Iowa State on Saturday in the second round.

Vince Edwards led Purdue (26-9) with 24 points.


NCAA Tournament 2015 10 best players all-time
See Gallery
Little Rock pulls off big comeback, shocks Purdue in 2OT

Grant Hill, Duke

Hill played four years in Durham and appeared in three NCAA Championship games, winning two. He was a key member of Duke’s 1991 and 1992 national title teams that made the Blue Devils the first Division I program to win consecutive titles since UCLA in 1973. In his senior season, Hill carried Duke to the championship game in 1994, losing a heartbreaker to Arkansas. While at Duke, Hill became the first player in ACC history to collect more than 1,900 points, 700 rebounds, 400 assists, 200 steals and 100 blocked shots.

(Photo by Sporting News via Getty Images)

Christian Laettner, Duke

The only player to start in four consecutive Final Four games, Laettner closed his career in Durham with back-to-back national titles. He won the 1990 and ’92 East regional finals with buzzer-beaters, the latter against Kentucky being one of the most replayed plays in NCAA Tournament history in what is often described as the greatest tournament game of all time. Laettner the career-leading scorer in tournament history (407 points) and played in a remarkable 23 tournament games.

(Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Lew Alcindor, UCLA

In three years in Westwood Alcindor lost two games and won three consecutive NCAA championships. In his six Final Four games, Alcindor averaged 25.7 points and 18.8 rebounds, and he is the only player to be named Most Outstanding Player at the Final Four three times. If freshmen were eligible during his time at UCLA its likely he would have been 4-for-4. (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)


Follow AOL Sports on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Read Full Story