On Friday, Hawaii will become the first U.S. state to raise the legal smoking age to 21.
Once the bill takes effect, if someone under 21 in Hawaii is caught using a tobacco product, it's a $10 fine for the first offense, and $50 every time after that. For store owners caught selling to people under 21, it will cost them at least $500.
Alabama, Alaska, New Jersey and Utah all raised the smoking age to 19, but Hawaii is the first to make it 21.
SEE ALSO: How coffee, albeit lots of it, could improve your physical endurance
State lawmakers passed the legislation last summer. Many said the decision was motivated by the growing popularity of e-cigarettes among teenagers. E-cigs are also included in this law.
Legislators referenced a University of Hawaii study that found e-cigarette use among Hawaii's teenagers is triple the national average.
The long-term health effects of e-cigs are a bit of a mystery, but some studies say there are some health risks.
Photos of celebrities caught smoking:
- Calculate your new refi payment in minutes. See if you can save
- Lock in a 2.06% APR Refi Rate Before The Fed Meets
- A Simple Way to Pay Off Your House ASAP
- Savings Interest Rates SkyRocket After Fed Meeting
- With the Recent Rate Hike, CDs Become Best Investment
- Mortgage Rates Remain Low by Historical Standards – Experts Urge Locki…
- Upgrade your favorite foods with these easy air fryer hacks
- Learn the basics of at-home baking with this perfect chocolate chip co…
- Chriselle Lim is changing the way millennial and Gen Z moms work
- Today's Top Mortgage Rates in Your Area
- Reach Your Financial Goals and Help Your Money Grow with these Top Inv…
- Drowning in Credit Card Debt? Consider a Debt Consolidation Loan!
- Forget the 30yr mortgage if you owe less than $822K (Do this instea…
- How to pay off your house ASAP (So simple it's unbelievable)
- Congress Gives Veterans A Generous Mortgage Relief Program