Tracy Morgan, George Lopez to honor Eddie Murphy at Mark Twain Prize event

Tracy Morgan Added to Long List of Eddie Murphy Honourees
Tracy Morgan Added to Long List of Eddie Murphy Honourees

Tracy Morgan and George Lopez have been added to the all-star list of those who will honor comedian Eddie Murphy on October 18, as he receives the 18th annual Mark Twain Award for American Humor, the Kennedy Center said Monday.

Morgan and Lopez will join newly installed "Daily Show" host Trevor Noah, Chris Rock and Dave Chappelle in honoring "Beverly Hills Cop" star Murphy at the event, which will take place at the Kennedy Center.

Also on hand to fete Murphy: Whitney Cummings, Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Sam Moore, Kevin Nealon, Jay Pharoah and Joe Piscopo.

Also Read:Eddie Murphy's 'Beverly Hills Cop 4' Removed From Paramount's Release Schedule (Exclusive)

"I am deeply honored to receive this recognition from the Kennedy Center and to join the distinguished list of past recipients of this award," Murphy said of the award.

Tickets for the event, which raises funds for the Center's educational and artistic initiative, range from $500 to $50,000.

Recent winners of the prize include Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Ellen DeGeneres and Will Ferrell.

See more Eddie Murphy in the gallery below!

More on The Wrap:
Danny Strong calls Brian Grazer 'The Godfather' of 'Empire'
33 Best Picture challengers in first Oscar outlook
'The Good Dinosaur' befriends a caveboy in new trailer for Pixar's prehistoric adventure