How the EU plans to share 120,000 more refugees

Juncker Calls for EU-Wide Action on Migrant Crisis
BRUSSELS (AP) — The President of the European Union's executive on Wednesday called for the emergency relocation of 120,000 people in need of international protection who have entered the EU through Italy, Greece and Hungary to 22 of the EU's 28 nations. Britain, Denmark and Ireland are not legally obliged to take part, but may choose to; Italy, Greece and Hungary are excluded because of the numbers of migrants already in those countries.

The refugee sharing plan is similar to a scheme announced in April to relocate 40,000 refugees from Italy and Greece. That proposal was never fully accepted, and EC President Jean-Claude Juncker said Wednesday that 500,000 migrants are believed to have arrived so far this year.

Here is what the spread of the 120,000 refugees among EU countries would be should they agree by a large majority to accept the new plan:

Austria 3,640

Belgium 4,564

Bulgaria 1,600

Croatia 1,064

Cyprus 274

Czech Republic 2,978

Estonia 373

Finland 2,398

France 24,031

Germany 31,443

Latvia 526

Lithuania 780

Luxembourg 440

Malta 133

Netherlands 7,214

Poland 9,287

Portugal 3,074

Romania 4,646

Slovakia 1,502

Slovenia 631

Spain 14,931

Sweden 4,469

Read Full Story