NFL: The top 30 teams of the modern era


The 1960 season represents the start of the modern era in professional football. That's the year that Lamar Hunt founded the American Football League, and that led to the AFL-NFL World Championship game that soon became known as the Super Bowl.

While there have been champions every year, we endeavor to rank the best teams of the modern era. We include some of the greatest teams from the old AFL, and we also include two teams - the 1967 Dallas Cowboys and 2007 New England Patriots - that did not win championships.

We don't think we have ended the argument, but we hope we have added to the debate.

More on AOL

Risers and Sliders After the 2015 NFL Combine
Risers and Sliders After the 2015 NFL Combine

Related links:
Conference breakdowns for the Big Dance
Braves OF to go by Melvin Upton Jr. this season
Knicks' Lou Amundson gets away with terrible travel

For more sports coverage, please visit and follow Steve Silverman on Twitter: @Profootballboy