Google Translate Adds 5 Languages


Google Translate has added supports for five more languages spoken by more than 183 million people worldwide, the company announced this week. Google Translate now handles more than 70 languages.

The five new languages, with Google facts on each, are:

  • Bosnian: The official language in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

  • Cebuano: One of the languages from the Phillipines.

  • Hmong: Spoken by the Hmong people across China, Vietnam, Laos, and Thailand.

  • Javanese: The second-most-spoken language in Indonesia, with 83 million native speakers.

  • Marathi: An Indian language with 73 million native speakers. Google Translate already supports several other Indian languages: Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Except Bosnian, Google says the new languages are in "alpha" testing, meaning the Google translation quality may not be perfect, but will improve over time. Google Translate can be accessed on the Google Translate homepage, via Chrome, in Gmail, or on an Androi or iOS device.


The article Google Translate Adds 5 Languages originally appeared on

Fool contributor Kevin Chen has no position in any stocks mentioned. The Motley Fool recommends Google. The Motley Fool owns shares of Google. Try any of our Foolish newsletter services free for 30 days. We Fools may not all hold the same opinions, but we all believe that considering a diverse range of insights makes us better investors. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.

Copyright © 1995 - 2013 The Motley Fool, LLC. All rights reserved. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.