Comcast Awards 55 Colorado High School Seniors Leaders and Achievers® Scholarships

Comcast Awards 55 Colorado High School Seniors Leaders and Achievers®Scholarships

  • Two students from Loveland, Denver to receive $10,000 scholarships

  • 53 students statewide to receive $1,000 scholarships

DENVER--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2013-14 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards.

"Each year, we are excited to provide scholarships for these talented students," said Charisse R. Lillie, President of the Comcast Foundation and Vice President, Community Investment of Comcast Corporation, who traveled to Denver from Comcast's Philadelphia headquarters to announce the awards. "Comcast seeks students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a strong commitment to community service. These students are our future leaders, and we hope these scholarships will help to power their dreams for success."

A total of $73,000 in scholarship funding will be awarded to 55 Colorado students, with 53 students receiving $1,000 each, and two - Andria Kelly of Thompson Valley High School in Loveland and Tianya Jackson of Martin Luther King, Jr. Early College in Denver -- each receiving $10,000. Students will receive the scholarship awards this summer as they prepare to begin college in the fall. A full list of student recipients appears on the next pages.

"Each fall, we ask principals and guidance counselors to help us identify the best and the brightest high school seniors across Colorado for recognition as 'Leaders and Achievers,'" said Rich Jennings, Senior Regional Vice President of Comcast's Mile High Region. "Comcast is proud to honor these outstanding young leaders who are committed not only to their own academic and future success, but also are passionate about serving others in their communities."

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, are catalysts for positive change in their communities, are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. Each year in Colorado, two students are also selected to receive $10,000 scholarship awards.

The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

Since the program's inception, more than 550 Colorado students have received a total of $667,000 in scholarship funding. Nationally, Comcast has awarded nearly $19 million to nearly 19,000 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners across the country.

$10,000 Scholarship Awards - 2 students

Tianya Jackson - Martin Luther King, Jr. Early College

Andria Kelly - Thompson Valley High School

$1,000 Scholarship Awards - 53 students

Maren Blair - Arvada High School
Liam Noone - Faith Christian Academy
Matthew Thompson - Pomona High School

Michael Brungardt - Hinkley High School
Jonathan Delgado - Aurora Central High School
T'Hani Holt - William Smith High School
Jasmine Koch - Rangeview High School
Cameron Stupansky - Smoky Hill High School

Katherine Kowal - Fairview High School
Kaia Mann - Boulder High School

Jakire Nicholson - Brighton Heritage Academy
Breanne Rodlin - Brighton High School

Kurtis Alberi - Holy Family High School
Zoe Fisher - Broomfield High School

Jared Martin - Byers Junior-Senior High School

Mollie Podmore - Colorado Rocky Mountain School Independent

Christina Alexander - Eaglecrest High School

Colorado Springs
Adriano Bamba - Harrison High School
Steven Gulliksen - Palmer High School
Sarah Lyman - Discovery Canyon Campus
Mitchell McCarty - Liberty High School
Bruno Mediate - The Classical Academy North
Hayden Whiting - Pine Creek High School

Commerce City
Cherrish Martinez - Adams City High School

Almaz Asmelash - South High School
Nicholas Bollen - Denver School of Science and Technology
Areli Campos-Rocha - Manual High School
Nayeli Chavez - Global Leadership Academy
Layth Dieyleh - Thomas Jefferson High School
Brianna Emerick - Denver Center for International Studies
Ricardo Galdamez-Escobar - Colorado Charter High School
Noah Gallegos - Mullen High School
Jovany Hidrogo - Southwest Early College Charter High School
Jesus Lazo - North High School
Linda Medina - Sheridan High School
Daniela Murillo - East High School
Justina Rodriquez - Florence Crittenton High School
Yesenya Saucedo - Bruce Randolph High School
Christopher Urias - Montbello High School

Carly Sellaro - Englewood High School

Fort Collins
Connor Haugen - Rocky Mountain High School

Greenwood Village
Kadesha Miller - Cherry Creek High School

Highlands Ranch
Hunter Gill - Fairmont Academy

Harnek Gulati - Peak To Peak Charter School

Hitomi Okada - Green Mountain High School
Neal Rose - Alameda High School

Meghan Halloran - Chatfield High School

Ashley Wright - Longmont High School

Alana Chen - Monarch High School

Kaleb Persons - Colorado Virtual Academy

Angela Eickelman - East High School
Krystal Nuccitelli - Central High School

Breonna Clark - Bollman Technical Education Center

Connect with the scholarship winners at

Explore and "like" Comcast in the community at

The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified nonprofit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities—promoting community service, expanding digital literacy, and building tomorrow's leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated more than $123 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at

Mary Spillane, 720-641-2264
Community Investment Manager

KEYWORDS: United States North America Colorado


The article Comcast Awards 55 Colorado High School Seniors Leaders and Achievers® Scholarships originally appeared on

Try any of our Foolish newsletter services free for 30 days. We Fools may not all hold the same opinions, but we all believe that considering a diverse range of insights makes us better investors. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.

Copyright © 1995 - 2013 The Motley Fool, LLC. All rights reserved. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.