UPS Honors California Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

UPS Honors California Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

LOS ANGELES--(BUSINESS WIRE)-- UPS (NYS: UPS) today announced 100 elite drivers from California are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

California boasts 619 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 17,234 years of accident-free driving. Peter Pavlian of Yucaipa is the state's senior safe driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for fourth best safe driving record among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 9,591 total UPS drivers in California.

Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times.

"My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved," said Gerald Mattes, president, UPS West Region.

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven.

UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called "Space and Visibility." All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at

UPS (NYS: UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit

** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin

Following is a list of California drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location
Paul Aguirre   Oceanside   Laguna Hub
Odell Ainuu   Carson   Grande Vista
Verne Anglin   Thousand Oaks   Newbury Park (Westlake) Center
Sadot Banuet   Ontario   Ontario Air Hub
Myron Barnett   Gardena   Gardena Hub
August Bartolazzi   Torrance   Gardena Hub
Ray Becker   Moreno Valley   Ontario Air Hub
Tom Biko   Visalia   Visalia Center
Dan Brockman   La Verne   San Gabriel Hub
Brian Brooks   Canyon Country   Van Nuys Hub
Michael Bruner   San Diego   San Diego Hub
Sean Burke   San Diego   San Diego Hub
Wesley Burkett   Santa Maria   Santa Barbara
Joe Carlos Jr   Chino Hills   Ontario Air Hub
Scott Carlson   Chino   Ontario Air Hub
Pat Carpenter   Somis   Newbury Park (Westlake) Center
Jimmy Chavez   Norwalk   Cerritos Hub
Ernie Chavez   Anaheim   Anaheim
Eric Cowell   San Marcos   San Diego Hub
James Criner   Ontario   Main Street Hub
Mark Crouch   Temecula   San Diego Hub
Wayne Curtis   Canoga Park   San Fernando
Clark Darley   Simi Valley   San Fernando
Mark Eichert   Fountain Valley   Cerritos Hub
Dwight Ellzey   Yorba Linda   Anaheim
Curt Elm   Menifee   Ontario Air Hub
Thomas Foertsch   Irvine   Anaheim
Donald Fossati   Oceanside   San Diego Hub
David Frevert   Cherry Valley   Ontario Air Hub
Fred Gallegos   Victorville   Grande Vista
Alberto Garcia   Hesperia   Ontario Air Hub
James Gaskin Jr   Hesperia   Ontario Air Hub
Salvatore Gervasi   Canyon Lake   Temecula
Herb Gibler   Lancaster   Lancaster Center
John Gomez   Fontana   Ontario Air Hub
Fred Gourley   Simi Valley   Olympic Hub
Chris Hadobas   Redlands   Ontario Air Hub
Royce Haggard   Moreno Valley   Ontario Air Hub
John Hamamoto   Torrance   Gardena Hub
Debbie Hamilton   Barstow   Barstow Center
Daryl Hansen   Lompoc   Santa Barbara
Craig Harjehausen   Riverside   San Bernardino
Debbie Harrington   Santa Maria   San Fernando
Kieth Hatch   Fresno   Fresno Center
Danny Hayes   Wilmington   Gardena Hub
Gregory Horn   Placentia   Anaheim
Robert Houser   Quartz Hill   Lancaster Center
Gerard Imbro   Torrance   Gardena Hub
Adrian Jacobo III   Covina   San Gabriel Hub
Bruce Jennings   San Diego   San Diego Hub
David Kennedy   Quartz Hill   Lancaster Center
Philip Larson   Fallbrook   San Marcos
Francisco Le Febre   Thousand Oaks   Van Nuys Hub
Rowland Lew   Temple City   Olympic Hub
John Luneke Jr   Valencia   San Fernando
Jeff Lydon   Lancaster   Main Street Hub
Andy Mac Nair   Castaic   San Fernando
Alonzo Mack Jr   Blythe   Blythe
Anthony Madrid   Pomona   Anaheim
Joe Maldonado   San Bernardino   Ontario Air Hub
Antonio Maldonado Jr   Rialto   Ontario Air Hub
Manuel Martinez   Bakersfield   Bakersfield Center
Abad Martinez Jr   Riverside   Riverside
Edward Mattern   San Diego   San Diego Hub
Timothy Matteson   Clovis   Fresno Center
Richard Mc Ewan II   La Palma   Grande Vista
Jeffery Mc Kee   Mission Viejo   Laguna Hub
Richard Miller   Laguna Niguel   Laguna Hub
Joanne Morello   Homeland   Ontario Air Hub
Craig Murakami   Mission Viejo   Laguna Hub
Tomas Murillo   Yorba Linda   Cerritos Hub
Anthony Neal   Compton   Gardena Hub
Hal Nissenbaum   Valencia   San Fernando
Frank Pacino   Palmdale   Lancaster Center
David Pierce   Anaheim   Anaheim
Paul Piercy   Corona   Anaheim
Richard Redding   Yorba Linda   Cerritos Hub
Edward Renteria   La Verne   Grande Vista
Dennis Roberson   Gardena   Gardena Hub
Donald Roberts   Valley Center   San Marcos
Javier Rodriguez   Fresno   Fresno Center
Danny Romero   Commerce   Grande Vista
Dennis Rose   Monrovia   San Gabriel Hub
Lawrence Salcido   Whittier   Main Street Hub
Philip Salzarulo   Norco   Ontario Air Hub
Ernesto Sanchez   Pico Rivera   Grande Vista
Andy Scheunemann   Oceanside   San Diego Hub
Thomas Stiglich   Canyon Country   Grande Vista
Chad Swan   Clovis   Fresno Center
Michael Thompson   Lakewood   Cerritos Hub
Blayne Thompson   Temecula   Ontario Air Hub
James Van Evera   Encinitas   San Diego Hub
Arnez Vasquez   Carson   Gardena Hub
Bruce Visscher   Chino   Ontario Air Hub
Daniel Wallo   San Luis Obispo   San Luis Obispo
Eric Williams   Palmdale   San Fernando
Roger Williams   San Diego   San Diego Hub
Craig Wilson   Fountain Valley   Ontario Air Hub