Stock Market Holidays 2013: When the Exchanges Are Shuttered, and When They Close Early

Stock Market closure
Getty Images

The global economy is a perpetual motion machine, but U.S. stock exchanges do take breaks: Independence Day is one of nine holidays on which the markets are shuttered (in addition to the weekends). And on Wednesday, the markets will close early, at 1 p.m.

Here's the complete list of stock exchange closing for 2013:

New Year's Day

Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Monday, Jan. 21, 2013

Presidents Day

Monday, Feb. 18, 2013

Good Friday

Friday, March 29, 2013

Memorial Day

Monday, May 27, 2013

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Labor Day

Monday, Sept. 2, 2013

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, Nov. 28, 2013

Christmas

Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2013


In addition, markets close early at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, July 3, Friday, Nov. 29, and Tuesday, Dec. 24.