Oaksterdam votes today on pot tax

ganjaVoting ends today in Oakland, Calif. on a measure to create a new business category, for the first time officially recognizing medical marijuana dispensaries as a business class of their own.

The measure would also impose a 1.8% business tax as a percentage of sales. Heretofore, these shops were licensed as general retail, paying 1.2%. If, as expected, this measure is approved by this mail-in only election, it would add an estimated $294,000 to the city coffers.

California dispensaries already collect a 7.25% state sales tax as well as local sales taxes.

Nonetheless, the state is considering full legalization, which is expected to increase sales tax revenue (due to increased sales) and allow it to add an excise tax like that added to alcohol sales. Bill AB 390, which would legalize pot, was introduced early this year. It would impose an additional $50 per ounce tax on weed in addition to the sales tax.

Proponents of legalization can be expected to use California's initiatives to push for nationwide legalization of weed. Many states struggling to balance their budgets could be tempted by the revenue pot-ential. Those states are also faced with the need to reduce prison populations to save money, and "chronic" offenders could well be among those set free.

Oakland is home to Oaksterdam, an area where marijuana laws are virtually unenforced. The name is an homage to the neighborhood of Hamsterdam in "The Wire," an area where drug sales were made unofficially legal on one short stretch of street by a police chief attempting to save West-side neighborhoods in Baltimore.

Getting Divorced

If you're going through a divorce, taxes may be the last thing on your mind, so we're here to help. We've got tips for you on which filing status to choose after the divorce, who can claim the exemptions for the kids, and how payments to an ex-spouse are treated for tax purposes.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

5 Tax Tips for Single Parents

Filing taxes as a single parent requires coordination between you and your ex-spouse or partner. Usually the custodial parent claims the child as a dependent, but there are exceptions. A single parent is allowed to claim applicable deductions and exemptions for each qualifying child. Even though you claim your child as a dependent, she may still have to file her own tax return if she has income, such as from an after-school job.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

7 Requirements for the Child Tax Credit

The Child Tax Credit can reduce your tax bill by as much as $1,000 per child, if you meet all seven requirements: 1. age, 2. relationship, 3. support, 4. dependent status, 5. citizenship, 6. length of residency and 7. family income. You and/or your child must pass all seven to claim this tax credit.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

Guide to Filing Taxes as Head of Household

The IRS has provided a series of guidelines to help taxpayers understand whether or not they qualify to file as head of household.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com
Read Full Story

Want more news like this?

Sign up for Finance Report by AOL and get everything from business news to personal finance tips delivered directly to your inbox daily!

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.