Last weekend to shop before sales tax hike in California

If you were eyeballing that big ticket item by any chance, and you live in California, you might want to consider popping for it this weekend.

Next weekend it will cost a good deal more, thanks to a one-cent-on-the-dollar increase in sales tax in California, beginning April 1.

As of Wednesday, the sales tax on California purchases will range from 8.25% to 10.25%, depending on additional local taxes. If you're looking at buying a $30,000 car, those kinds of taxes can quickly add up.

So although merchants of all stripes are gearing up for a blow-out sale weekend, many are also worried that any temporary boom will quickly be tempered by a deafening snap, as consumers in California shut their wallets en mass.

The sales tax is temporary, at least until California somehow heaves itself from the brink of insolvency. It will expire on July 1, 2011 or July 1, 2012, depending on whether voters approve the Budget Stabilization Act in a statewide election May 19. The legislature also approved a hike in vehicle licensing fees.

Getting Divorced

If you're going through a divorce, taxes may be the last thing on your mind, so we're here to help. We've got tips for you on which filing status to choose after the divorce, who can claim the exemptions for the kids, and how payments to an ex-spouse are treated for tax purposes.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

5 Tax Tips for Single Parents

Filing taxes as a single parent requires coordination between you and your ex-spouse or partner. Usually the custodial parent claims the child as a dependent, but there are exceptions. A single parent is allowed to claim applicable deductions and exemptions for each qualifying child. Even though you claim your child as a dependent, she may still have to file her own tax return if she has income, such as from an after-school job.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

7 Requirements for the Child Tax Credit

The Child Tax Credit can reduce your tax bill by as much as $1,000 per child, if you meet all seven requirements: 1. age, 2. relationship, 3. support, 4. dependent status, 5. citizenship, 6. length of residency and 7. family income. You and/or your child must pass all seven to claim this tax credit.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com

Guide to Filing Taxes as Head of Household

The IRS has provided a series of guidelines to help taxpayers understand whether or not they qualify to file as head of household.

Read More

Brought to you by TurboTax.com
Read Full Story

Want more news like this?

Sign up for Finance Report by AOL and get everything from business news to personal finance tips delivered directly to your inbox daily!

Subscribe to our other newsletters

Emails may offer personalized content or ads. Learn more. You may unsubscribe any time.