Vegans embrace the idea of changing the name of vegan cheese to 'Gary'
There's nothing vegans love more at a dinner party than a nice slice of Gary.
"Gary" is a relatively new term the vegan community seems to be adopting following one (presumably non-vegan) person's Facebook rant about vegans calling their cheese-alternatives "cheese."
Vegan Life Magazine shared the person's Facebook rant, blocking out the person's name.
Apparently, the post was incited after the person discovered that their local supermarket, Sainsbury's, was selling a vegan variety of cheeses made with coconuts from their Deliciously FreeFrom line of food products.
The brand creates the same foods people love, like cheese and pasta, that are also free of common food allergens like gluten, eggs, soy and milk.
"Cheese is not made with coconuts. Call it Gary or something don't call it cheese because it's not cheese," the person wrote.
Milk-free fans seemed to be amenable to the name change.
One commenter posted the original poster's follow-up response, saying "it wasn't a judging post...Friends who know me know I just really like cheese."
Fair enough. We all say things we don't mean when it comes to snacks.
They also wrote that they had received some threats due to their first original post, so clearly not everyone had jumped on the Gary train quite so lightheartedly. Vegans everywhere can agree no one should get hurt over Gary.
The original poster has deleted their post so as "not to upset anyone else," and noted that they will "be checking out the Gary's [sic]." Perhaps this person can be both a cheese lover and a Gary lover.
Gary is all about peace and harmony.