Twitter Backtracks on Privacy Change

Before you go, we thought you'd like these...
Before you go close icon

Following an outpouring of user backlash, including an online petition that garnered more than 1,800 signatures in a matter of hours, Twitter has backtracked on yesterday's policy change that allowed blocked users to still see tweets from the people blocking them, the company announced today in a blog.

The reason for the new, short-lived policy, according to Twitter, was that it didn't let blocked users know they were being blocked, thereby decreasing the chance of "retaliation against blocking users by blocked users (and sometimes their friends)." Twitter added in its blog that it doesn't feel the original policy (the policy that was reinstituted today) is ideal, but "we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe."

In Twitter's original statement announcing the change in its initial policy, it said blocked users cannot:

  • Add your Twitter account to their lists.
  • Have their @replies or mentions show in your mentions tab (although these Tweets may still appear in search).
  • Follow you.
  • See your profile picture on their profile page or in their timeline. 

But that short-lived policy change neglected to mention that blocked users would still be able to view tweets.

The article Twitter Backtracks on Privacy Change originally appeared on

Fool contributor Tim Brugger has no position in any stocks mentioned. The Motley Fool has no position in any of the stocks mentioned. Try any of our Foolish newsletter services free for 30 days. We Fools may not all hold the same opinions, but we all believe that considering a diverse range of insights makes us better investors. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.

Copyright © 1995 - 2013 The Motley Fool, LLC. All rights reserved. The Motley Fool has a disclosure policy.

Read Full Story

People are Reading