Tweet Your Way To A Sweet Job

Before you go, we thought you'd like these...

If you think Twitter is just about kids "tweeting" their every random thought and selling concert tickets, think again.

With its limit of 140 characters per tweet and its worldwide podium, the microblogging platform of Twitter is quickly proving to have many uses -- from "ringing the dinner bell" for your spouse in the next room, to putting your name and résumé out there to prospective employers.

People of all ages, in every tax bracket, and from all walks of life are using the simple and completely cost-free forum. It's not Twitter that dictates how it's used; it's how you use it.

Rather than allowing yourself to be sucked into a social networking vortex, make Twitter your job-search bitch. Here are the most useful Twitter strategies:


Network

Tweetdeck (a personal browser for staying in touch with news, connecting users with contacts across Twitter and Facebook, etc.) has teamed up with TwitJobSearch (a site that allows users to search for employment while on the go). The application, called JobDeck, uses the same technology as the TwitJobSearch site, indexing "jobs available" tweets from across the Twittersphere and saving you a great deal of time. It's free.


Get Personal

Then there's the more personal, friendly approach. If you're already on Twitter all the time anyway, why not try following some people that can actually do you some good, rather than those who tweet every five minutes about what they're eating? If you like these folks, retweet their posts and @ reply them. Chances are, they'll return the kindness.


Here are some useful job-related Tweeters:

  • Alison Doyle (@alisondoyle) -- wrote Internet Your Way To a New Job.
  • Ben Casnocha (@bencasnocha) -- wrote My Start-Up Life.
  • Ben Yoskovitz (@byosko) -- is the CEO of Standout Jobs.
  • Charlie O'Donnell (@ceonyc) -- is the CEO of Path101.
  • Chris Russell (@chrisrussell) -- reposts on AllCountyJobs, Secrets of the Job Hunt, and JobRadio.fm.
  • Dan Schawbel (@danschawbel) -- wrote Me 2.0.
  • Laurie Ruettimann (@lruettimann) -- an HR professional.
  • Lisa Johnson Mandell (@lisajmandell) -- wrote Career Comeback--Repackage Yourself to Get the Job You Want.
  • M-TV Networks (@MTVNetworksJobs) -- C'mon. Admit it: you want to work at MTV.
  • Peter Shankman (@skydiver) -- heads up the HARO (Help A Reporter Out) service.
  • Steven Rothberg (@stevenrothberg) -- runs CollegeRecruiter.com.
  • Susan Joyce (@jobhuntorg) -- the driving force of Job-Hunt.org.
  • Willy Franzen (@willyf) -- of Found Your Career.

Search Directly

It's more of a crapshoot, but rather than taking the time to follow people and maintain cyber-style friendships, you can simply go to http://twitter.com and search for "Jobs Available" to get several real-time results.


Multi-task

Lastly, don't forget that you can maintain multiple Twitter accounts. One to look for concert tickets and to vicariously enjoy all of your followers' coffee breaks, and another one to seek work. Put your pitch in your bio, tweet about your job search, and use a simple, professional avatar -- and remember to add a little of your own personality.

Read Full Story

People are Reading